ENGL 196 Reading and Writing

EBSCO Search Tips

  • Scroll to Refine your results and select 2005 to 2014 to retrieve complete articles published after 2004.

EBSCO Database Tips

  • Print your articleEBSCO print icon
  • Email your articleEBSCO email icon
  • Get a computer generated citation for your articleEBSCO cite icon

Note: To access these databases from the Shasta College webpage: shastacollege.edu/library 

  • Select Articles & Databases from the left hand green tool bar and search to find Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
    • Click on Choose Databases to simultaneously search more than one EBSCO database such as Academic Search Premier

Journal Databases

You will need your library card to access these databases off campus!

Ask A Librarian in EBSCO

Click on the Ask A Librarian link available at the top bar of all pages in EBSCO databases 

EBSCO Ask A Librarian icon

Enter your personal email. A message containing your email and search strategy will be sent to the Shasta College librarian. Expect a response within one business day. 

Combining search terms (Boolean)

Using Boolean

A search that was successful in EBSCO databases will also work well in Proquest National Newspapers.

Search Commands

 

*

asterisk

to truncate words at their roots or stems

communicat* for 

communicates, communication

“  “

quotation marks

to enclose a phrase or name

“interpersonal communication” 

“nonverbal communication”

OR

 

to connect related terms

  job OR work

(   )

parentheses

To nest terms for searches with multiple commands

(intercultural OR “cross cultural”)

 

AND

 

to combine multiple ideas

(job OR work) AND communicat* AND emotion*

Newspaper Database

You will need your library card to access this database off campus!

Proquest Database Tips

  • Get a computer generated citation for your articleProquest cite icon
  • Use the other icons to print and email articles Proquest icons

Note: To access this database from the Shasta College webpage: shastacollege.edu/library 

  • Select Articles & Databases from the left hand green menu
  • Search to find ProQuest National Newspapers