A digital collection with over 6,000 texts including encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and guides.
Books on Library Shelves (available for 3 week loan)
Popular Art and Social Change in the Retablos of Nicario Jiménez Quispe by Carol Damian (Editor); Steve Stein (Editor)This volume traces in text and photographs the life and work of Peruvian folk artist Nicario Jimenez Quispe. Preface; Robert J. Loescher; Popular Art and Social Change in the Andes and Beyond: The Retablos of Nicario Jimenez Quispe is a text that celebrates mestizaje. It highlights the richness of a culture that has evolved from the syncretizing of indigenous Andean and immigrant European traditions. Featuring the Peruvian retablo, unquestionably one of the most distinctive genres of Latin American folk or popular art, this book provides not only aesthetic delight, but documents the culture, politics, and history of the Quechua-speaking communities of the Altiplano of Peru. The vitality resulting from the creative tension between tradition and change is the central theme underlying this collection of essays. While the retablo maintains formal and functional relationships to its colonial and ancient American past, it continues to evolve both in form and content by continually incorporating new and relevant subject matter and concerns related to the present. opportunity to observe how an art form developed from its inception to its most recent manifestations. Traditionally anonymous, many Latin American folk or popular artists now have established reputations. Nicario Jimenez Quispe is among the best-known contemporary retablo makers in Peru. He is visually articulate in rendering socio-political images of the present and completely comfortable depicting traditional religious themes. Viewing his works, one can easily appreciate that many are equivalent to the best examples of politically astute fine art being produced anywhere. These works speak to issues of political chaos, human aggression, and ecological disaster with unparalleled poignancy and virtuosity.
Call Number: N5300 .A14 2007
Freedom or Security by Michael A. FreemanSeveral democratic countries have used emergency powers to restrict or suspend individual liberties in order to fight terrorism more effectively. Emergency powers are controversial in their potential to undermine democracy and civil liberties. Freeman challenges popular arguments of both the supporters of emergency powers, who focus on their expected effectiveness, and the critics, who focus on the dangers. In reality, the recent experiences of four different democratic states that have invoked emergency powers show that a positive outcome is just as likely as negative outcome. As the United States fights its war against terrorism, it should heed the lessons learned by other democracies in similar struggles, particularly Great Britain's relationship with Northern Ireland in the 70s and 80s, Uruguay's response to the Tupamaros in the late 60s and early 70s, Canada's dealings with the FLQ in 1970, and Peru's conflict with the Shining Path movement in the 80s and early 90s.
Until the Rulers Obey by Clifton Ross (Editor); Marcy Rein (Editor); Raúl Zibechi (Foreword by)Until the Rulers Obey brings together voices from the movements behind the wave of change in Latin America. These movements have galvanised long-silenced sectors of society: indigenous peoples, campesinos, students, the LGBT community and all those left out of the promised utopia of a globalised economy. This unique collection of interviews and primary source material features five dozen leaders and grassroots activists from 15 counties presenting their work and debating pressing questions of power, organisational forms and relations with the state.
Call Number: HN110.5 .A8 U6 2014
Books in the Library Reference collection (for use in Library only)
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States by Suzanne Oboler (Editor); Deena J. González (Editor)A landmark scholarly work, The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States offers comprehensive, reliable, and accessible information about the fastest growing minority population in the nation. With an unprecedented scope and cutting-edge scholarship, the Encyclopedia draws together the diverse historical and contemporary experiences in the United States of Latinos and Latinas from Mexico, Puerto Rico, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Central America, South America, Europe, Asia, and the Middle East. Over 900 A to Z articles ranging in length from 500 words to 7,500 words written by academics, scholars, writers, artists, and journalists, address such broad topics as identity, art, politics, religion, education, health, and history. Each entry has its own bibliography and cross-references and is signed by its author. Essential for scholarly and professional researchers as well as the classroom and library, The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States will fill a void in the historical scholarship of an under-served population.
Call Number: REFERENCE E184 .S75 O97 2005
Reference Library of Hispanic America by Nicolás Kanellos (Editor)
Call Number: REFERENCE E184 .S75 R44 2002
eBooks (available 24/7 to Shasta College students, faculty, and staff)
Before the Shining Path by Jaymie Patricia HeilmanFrom 1980 to 1992, Maoist Shining Path rebels, Peruvian state forces, and Andean peasants waged a bitter civil war that left some 69,000 people dead. Using archival research and oral interviews, "Before the Shining Path" is the first long-term historical examination of the Shining Path's political, economic, and social antecedents in Ayacucho, the department where the Shining Path initiated its war. This study uncovers rural Ayacucho's vibrant but largely unstudied twentieth-century political history and contends that the Shining Path was the last and most extreme of a series of radical political movements that indigenous peasants pursued. The Shining Path's violence against rural indigenous populations exposed the tight hold of anti-Indian prejudice inside Peru, as rebels reproduced the same hatreds they aimed to defeat. But, this was nothing new. Heilman reveals that minute divides inside rural indigenous communities repeatedly led to violent conflict across the twentieth century.
Peasant and Nation by Florencia E. MallonThis text offers a new statement on the making of national politics. Comparing the popular political cultures and discourses of post-colonial Mexico and Peru, it provides an analysis of their effect on the evolution of these nation states. As a political history from the subaltern perspective, the book takes seriously the intellectual history of peasant action and the complexity of community politics. It reveals the hierarchy and the heroism, the solidarity and the surveillance, the exploitation and the reciprocity, that coexist in popular political struggle.
Call Number: F1231.5 .M34 1995 eb
The Shining Path by Gustavo Gorriti Ellenbogen; Gustavo GorritiFirst published in Peru in 1990,The Shining Pathwas immediately hailed as one of the finest works on the insurgency that plagued that nation for over fifteen years. A richly detailed and absorbing account, it covers the dramatic years between the guerrillas' opening attack in 1980 and President Fernando Belaunde's reluctant decision to send in the military to contain the growing rebellion in late 1982. Covering the strategy, actions, successes, and setbacks of both the government and the rebels, the book shows how the tightly organized insurgency forced itself upon an unwilling society just after the transition from an authoritarian to a democratic regime. One of Peru's most distinguished journalists, Gustavo Gorriti first covered the Shining Path movement for the leading Peruvian newsweekly,Caretas. Drawing on hundreds of interviews and an impressive array of government and Shining Path documents, he weaves his careful research into a vivid portrait of the now-jailed Shining Path leader Abimael Guzm n, Belaunde and his generals, and the unfolding drama of the fiercest war fought on Peruvian soil since the Chilean invasion a century before.
Call Number: F3448.2 .G6713 1999
War of Shadows by Michael Fobes Brown; Eduardo FernándezLate in 1965, Ashaninka Indians, members of one of the Amazon's largest native tribes, joined forces with Marxist revolutionaries who had opened a guerrilla front in Ashaninka territory. This work presents the haunting story of a failed uprising in the Peruvian Amazon - told largely by people who were there.