A digital collection with over 6,000 texts including encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and guides.
Ethical Challenges in Health Care by Vicki D. LachmanDesignated a Doody's Core Title Lachman successfully addresses the most important topics in health care ethics in this volume...The 20 chapters are divided logically and proceed onward from those dealing with the evolution of the philosophical basis for personal and organizational ethics...This text would be a highly useful resource for both undergraduate- and graduate-level health care ethics courses... Summing Up: Recommended. --Choice This book is written for 'all healthcare professionals, ' from those providing healthcare services to those administrating healthcare organizations. It] offers a detailed account of the concept of moral courage within the context of healthcare delivery'. and] offers clarity and advice on numerous ethical problems. --Doody's Stand up for what you believe in, even if it means standing alone. -Nelson Mandela As a health professional or health care leader, have you ever: Had to address the problem of uninsured patients in your hospital? Had to deliver bad news to patients and families? Wanted to report an unethical colleague? If so, you need this book on your bookshelf. Health care managers and professionals face serious ethical dilemmas like these every day. This book provides the knowledge, insight, strategies, and encouragement necessary for developing moral courage in health care practice, even in the face of adversity. Lachman outlines both personal and organizational strategies to help nurses, physicians, physical therapists, and health care leaders develop moral courage, and face difficult ethical challenges in health care practice and management head-on. Lachman presents numerous, real-life case examples to illustrate skills and opportunities for developing moral courage in the workplace. Also included are tips for executives on how to develop their ethical leadership skills. Key Features: Presents guidelines for developing moral courage for organization leaders as well as for individual practitioners Discusses topics of critical concern to nurses and physicians, including patient autonomy, informed consent, and the importance of truth-telling Highlights pressing issues for health care leaders, including the uninsured in America, managing disruptive practitioners, and promoting patient safety Includes guidelines for standing up and speaking out against unethical practices Reiterates Key Points to Remember at the end of each chapter
The Governance of Genetic Information by Heather Widdows; Caroline MullenThis volume maps the areas of ethical concern in the debate regarding the governance of genetic information, and suggests alternative ethical frameworks and models of regulation in order to inform its restructuring. Genetic governance is at the heart of medical and scientific developments, and is connected to global exploitation, issues of commodification, commercialisation and ownership, the concepts of property and intellectual property and concerns about individual and communal identity. Thus the decisions that are made in the next few years about appropriate models of genetic governance will have knock-on effects for other areas of governance. In short the final answer to 'Who Decides?' in the context of genetic governance will fundamentally shape the ethical constructs of individuals and their networks and relationships in the public sphere.
Healthcare Informatics by Stephan P. KudybaHealthcare Informatics: Improving Efficiency through Technology, Analytics, and Managementsupplies an understanding of the different types of healthcare service providers, corresponding information technologies, analytic methods, and data issues that play a vital role in transforming the healthcare industry. All of these elements are reshaping the various activities such as workflow and processes of hospitals, healthcare systems, ACOs, and patient analytics, including hot spotting, risk stratification, and treatment effectiveness. A follow-up to Healthcare Informatics: Improving Efficiency and Productivity, this latest book includes new content that examines the evolution of Big Data and how it is revolutionizing the healthcare industry. It presents strategies for achieving national goals for the meaningful use of health information technology and includes sound project management principles and case illustrations for technology roll-out, such as Computer Physician Order Entry (CPOE) for optimal utilization. The book describes how to enhance process efficiency by linking technologies, data, and analytics with strategic initiatives to achieve success. It explains how to leverage data resources with analytics to enhance decision support for care providers through in-depth descriptions of the array of analytic methods that are used to create actionable information, including Business Intelligence, Six Sigma, Data, and Text Mining.
Medical Records and the Law by William H. RoachPublished in conjunction with the American Health Information Management Association (AHIMA), Medical Records and the Law is the ideal text for programs in HIM as well as a valuable reference for health and legal professionals. The Fourth Edition features an expanded discussion of state laws affecting the use and disclosure of health information and the substantial changes brought about by HIPAA and the growth of electronic health record systems. It also discusses the highly complex interplay of federal and state laws as well as the challenging area of how patient information may be used in connection with medical research involving human subjects.
Social and Community Informatics by Gunilla BradleyAs a discipline, Informatics has developed over the years from its initial focus on data processing and software development, towards a more recent emphasis on people's use of technology and its impact on their working and private lives. Gunilla Bradley, an internationally recognized expert in this field, has researched this area for many years and here, authors this indispensable volume on the topic. Providing a broad and deep analysis of the relationship between people, ICT, society and the environment, Bradley examines the impact on/change in organizations and individuals, both in the workplace and in the home. Taking a firmly humanistic view she also looks to the future as ICT increasingly transforms and impacts on our lives, and explores issues including stress, power, competence and psychosocial communication. She proposes normative research questions for the future and presents actions to achieve the Good ICT society. This thought-provoking book will be of interest to students and academics studying social informatics, computing and MIS as well as organizational behaviour, sociology, psychology and communications. Research-based and cross-disciplinary, Bradley's book is a valuable, and topical, resource. mp;lt;P>This thought-provoking book will be of interest to students and academics studying social informatics, computing and MIS as well as organizational behaviour, sociology, psychology and communications. Research-based and cross-disciplinary, Bradley's book is a valuable, and topical, resource.
Statistical Applications for Health Information Management by Carol E. OsbornPublished in conjunction with the American Health Information Management Association® (AHIMA), this title covers the basic biostatistics, descriptive statistics, and inferential statistics that are unique to health information management (HIM). Computer applications used in the real world are emphasized throughout the book, with only a minimal focus on manual applications.