CMST 30 - Oral Interpretation

Resources to Support Oral Interpretation: In Print and Online

EBSCO Search Tips

  • Under Search Options select EBSCO Boolean option
  • Scroll to Refine your results and select 2005 to 2014 to retrieve complete articles published after 2004.

Magazine and Journal Databases

EBSCO Database Tips

  • Print your articleEBSCO print icon
  • Email your articleEBSCO email icon
  • Get a computer generated citation for your articleEBSCO cite icon

Note: To access these databases from the Shasta College webpage: shastacollege.edu/library 

  • Select Articles & Databases from the left hand green tool bar and search to find Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
    • Click on Choose Databases to simultaneously search more than one EBSCO database such as Academic Search Premier

Using Boolean

Search Commands

 

*

asterisk

to truncate words at their roots or stems

communicat* for 

communicates, communication

“  “

quotation marks

to enclose a phrase or name

“cross cultural” 

“nonverbal communication”

OR

 

to connect related terms

intercultural OR “cross cultural”

(   )

parentheses

To nest terms when for searches with multiple commands

(intercultural OR “cross cultural”)

 

AND

 

to combine multiple facets

(Intercultural OR “cross cultural”) AND communicat* AND “culture shock”

Ask A Librarian in EBSCO

Click on the Ask A Librarian link available at the top bar of all pages in EBSCO databases 

EBSCO Ask A Librarian icon

Enter your personal email. A message containing your email and search strategy will be sent to the Shasta College librarian. Expect a response within one business day.