Buzzed by Cynthia Kuhn; Scott Swartzwelder; Wilkie Wilson; Jeremy Foster (Foreword by); Leigh Heather Wilson (Foreword by)A bestseller in its three previous editions, Buzzed is now revised and updated with the most recent discoveries about drugs. It includes new information about biological and behavioral changes in addiction, the prescription-drug abuse epidemic, distinctive drug effects on the adolescent brain, and trends from synthetic cannabinoids to e-cigarettes. “Lively, highly informative, unbiased, [and] thorough” (Addiction Research & Theory), this no-nonsense handbook surveys the most used and abused drugs from caffeine to heroin to methamphetamine. In both quick-reference summaries and in-depth analysis, it reports on how these drugs enter the body, how they manipulate the brain, their short-term and long-term effects, the different “highs” they produce, and the circumstances in which they can be deadly. Neither a “just say no” treatise nor a “how-to” manual, Buzzed is based on the conviction that people make better decisions with accurate information in hand.
Call Number: RM316 .K84 2014
Choosing Health by April Lynch; Barry Elmore; Tanya Morgan; Jerome KoteckiALERT:nbsp;Before you purchase, check with your instructor or review your course syllabus to ensure that younbsp;select the correct ISBN. Several versions of Pearson''s MyLab & Mastering products exist for each title, including customized versions for individual schools, and registrations are not transferable. In addition,nbsp;you may need a CourseID, provided by your instructor, to register for and use Pearson''s MyLab & Mastering products. nbsp; Packages Access codes for Pearson''s MyLab & Mastering products may not be included when purchasing or renting from companies other than Pearson; check with the seller before completing your purchase. nbsp; Used or rental books If you rent or purchase a used book with an access code, the access code may have been redeemed previously and you may have to purchase a new access code. nbsp; Access codes Access codes that are purchased from sellers other than Pearson carry a higher risk of being either the wrong ISBN or a previously redeemed code. Check with the seller prior to purchase. nbsp; -- For the Personal Health Course The Brief Text that Speaks the Language of Students Today Choosing Health uses real-life applications, behavior change tools, and mobile technologies to speak to students better than any other brief personal health textbook. With its magazine-style design and inclusion of real student stories (both online and in the printed material), this text is the one that you can most relate to-and the one that will most inspire you to choose a healthy lifestyle.nbsp; nbsp; Now included with Choosing Health , MasteringHealth(tm) is an online homework, tutorial, and assessment product designed to improve results by helping you quickly master concepts. Your can benefit from self-paced tutorials that feature immediate wrong-answer feedback and hints that emulate the office-hour experience to help keep you on track and prepared for lecture. Teaching and Learning Experience This program presents a better teaching and learning experience-for you. It will help: Personalize learning with MasteringHealth: MasteringHealth coaches you through the toughest health topics. Engaging tools help you visualize, practice, and understand crucial content, from the basics of health to the fundamentals of behavior change. Become engaged with relatable student stories: Real student stories illustrate why you should care about your health. Bring content alive with integrated media: Health Online links throughout the text, student videos, and mobile technologies encourage you to take a more active role in improving their health.nbsp; Encourage behavior change: Unique, practical tools like the new Choosing to Change Worksheets help you make informed decisions about your lifestyle choices. Make reading and learning about health accessible and visually appealing: A magazine-style design with more photos and visual appeal encourages younbsp; to read, while the conversational writing style is student-friendly without sacrificing academic rigor.nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp; Updated content such as the additional electronic chapters on sleep and environmental health provide important relevant information on topics. 0321911857 / 9780321911858 Choosing Health Plus MasteringHealth with eText -- Access Card Package Package consists of:nbsp;nbsp;nbsp; 0321929659 / 9780321929655 Choosing 0321948629 / 9780321948625 MasteringHealth with Pearson eText -- ValuePack Access Card -- for Choosing Health
Call Number: RA776.5 .L96 2015
Nutrition by Frances Sizer; Ellie WhitneyIdeal for both non-majors and mixed-majors, NUTRITION: CONCEPTS AND CONTROVERSIES provides practical applications and accessible explanations to dispel common misconceptions about nutrition and empower readers to make lasting behavior changes.Do pregnant women really crave pickles and ice cream? Are carbohydrates good or bad? These and many more topics are explored in NUTRITION: CONCEPTS AND CONTROVERSIES.The Thirteenth Edition of this text dispels common misconceptions about nutrition, and equips you with a thorough understanding of important nutrition concepts and tools that empower you to make informed decisions about your own nutrition choices.Known for its clear explanations that show you how topics relate to your life, the text provides the basics of nutrition-from how to be a good consumer to understanding the science of nutrition-and is packed with interactive learning tools and study aids to help you in your course. Available with InfoTrac#65533; Student Collections http://gocengage.com/infotrac.
Call Number: QP141 .S5365 2014
The Encyclopedia of Addictions and Addictive Behaviors by Esther Gwinnell; Christine AdamecMillions of Americans - from adolescents to senior citizens - are ruled by addictive behaviors that may destroy their lives as well as the lives of their families, friends, and even strangers. ""The Encyclopedia of Addictions and Addictive Behaviors"" is an A-to-Z reference to addictive behaviors, their signs, symptoms, and causes, as well as how to recognize and treat them. More than 300 entries provide a comprehensive overview of individual addictions as well as overlapping issues, such as emotional problems, family dysfunction, and difficulties with employment. This invaluable resource also provides theoretical and practical information on how people who are addicted to various substances or behaviors can, with hard work and assistance from others, often recover and go on to lead normal, productive lives.
Call Number: RC564 .G95 2006
Marijuana - eBooks and Books on the Shelf
The Business of Cannabis: New Policies for the New Marijuana Industry by D. J. SummersWhat happens when corporate culture takes over counterculture? This book explores the contradictions present within the cannabis industry from a business and policy perspective. * Treats the new and growing cannabis industry in the context of more established ones, such as the alcohol, pharmaceutical, and tobacco industries * Collects experiences and experiments from all of the regions, states, and municipalities in which marijuana has been legalized * Explains how federal regulations or lack thereof (e.g., lack of access to banking) affect the industry * Explores the interactions of federal, state, and local laws * Sheds light on the evolution of public policy on legalized marijuana
Call Number: eBOOK
Publication Date: 2018
The Legalization of Marijuana by Noël Merino; Greenhaven Press Staff (Contribution by)Opposing Viewpoints Series For over 25 years, the Greenhaven Press Opposing Viewpoints Series has developed and set the standard for current-issue studies. With more than 90 volumes covering nearly every controversial contemporary topic, Opposing Viewpoints is the leading source for libraries and classrooms in need of current-issue materials. Each title explores a specific issue by placing expert opinions in a unique pro/con format. The viewpoints are selected from a wide range of highly respected and often hard-to-find sources and publications. By choosing from such diverse sources and including both popular and unpopular views, the Opposing Viewpoints editorial team has adhered to its commitment to editorial objectivity. Readers are exposed to many sides of a debate, which promotes issue awareness as well as critical thinking. In short, Opposing Viewpoints is the best research and learning tool for exploring the issues that continually shape and define our turbulent and changing world.
Call Number: KF3891 .M2 L43 2016
Marijuana by David E. NewtonThe debate over the use of marijuana for recreational or medical purposes is not just a recent hot topic in America--it's been an ongoing issue and argument for centuries. This book examines the controversy from all angles.
Call Number: eBOOK
Marijuana: Examining the Facts by Karen T. Van Gundy; Michael S. StauntonDrawing on scientific evidence from medicine, psychology, criminology, and sociology, this book explores the veracity of claims about marijuana use and misuse. * Provides a one-stop resource for straight answers on the impacts--good and bad--of marijuana use in the United States * Outlines potential sources of myths and false claims about marijuana use and misuse * Presents data transparently, without the biases, judgments, or subtle manipulations that often skew public opinion * Includes primary documents and empirical data and statistics from objective, authoritative sources * Draws from a range of scientific disciplines to help readers fully understand the multidimensional causes, consequences, and risks of marijuana use and abuse
Call Number: eBOOK
Publication Date: 2017
Stoned by David CasarettA doctor discovers the surprising truth about marijuana No substance on earth is as hotly debated as marijuana. Opponents claim it's dangerous, addictive, carcinogenic, and a gateway to serious drug abuse. Fans claim it as a wonder drug, treating cancer, anorexia, AIDS, chronic pain, glaucoma, arthritis, migraines, PTSD, and insomnia. Patients suffering from these conditions need--and deserve--hard facts based on medical evidence, not hysteria and superstition. In Stoned, palliative care physician Dr. David Casarett sets out to do anything--including experimenting on himself--to find evidence of marijuana's medical potential. He smears mysterious marijuana paste on his legs and samples pot wine. He poses as a patient at a seedy California clinic and takes lessons from an artisanal hash maker. In conversations with researchers, doctors, and patients around the world he learns how marijuana works--and doesn't--in the real world. Dr. Casarett unearths tales of near-miraculous success, such as a child with chronic seizures who finally found relief in cannabidiol oil. In Tel Aviv, he learns of a nursing home that's found success giving marijuana to dementia patients. On the other hand, one patient who believed marijuana cured her lung cancer has clearly been misled. As Casarett sifts the myth and misinformation from the scientific evidence, he explains, among other things: * Why marijuana might be the best treatment option for some types of pain * Why there's no significant risk of lung damage from smoking pot * Why most marijuana-infused beer or wine won't get you high Often humorous, occasionally heartbreaking, and full of counterintuitive conclusions, Stoned offers a compassionate and much-needed medical practitioner's perspective on the potential of this misunderstood plant.
Call Number: RM666 .C266 C3755 2015
Tell Your Children by Alex BerensonAn eye-opening report from an award-winning author and former New York Times reporter reveals the link between teenage marijuana use and mental illness, and a hidden epidemic of violence caused by the drug--facts the media have ignored as the United States rushes to legalize cannabis. Recreational marijuana is now legal in nine states. Almost all Americans believe the drug should be legal for medical use. Advocates argue cannabis can help everyone from veterans to cancer sufferers. But legalization has been built on myths- that marijuana arrests fill prisons; that most doctors want to use cannabis as medicine; that it can somehow stem the opiate epidemic; that it is not just harmless but beneficial for mental health. In this meticulously reported book, Alex Berenson, a former New York Times reporter, explodes those myths: * Almost no one is in prison for marijuana; * A tiny fraction of doctors write most authorizations for medical marijuana, mostly for people who have already used; * Marijuana use is linked to opiate and cocaine use. Since 2008, the US and Canada have seen soaring marijuana use and an opiate epidemic. Britain has falling marijuana use and no epidemic; * Most of all, THC--the chemical in marijuana responsible for the drug's high--can cause psychotic episodes. After decades of studies, scientists no longer seriously debate if marijuana causes psychosis. Psychosis brings violence, and cannabis-linked violence is spreading. In the four states that first legalized, murders have risen 25 percent since legalization, even more than the recent national increase. In Uruguay, which allowed retail sales in July 2017, murders have soared this year. Berenson's reporting ranges from the London institute that is home to the scientists who helped prove the cannabis-psychosis link to the Colorado prison where a man now serves a thirty-year sentence after eating a THC-laced candy bar and killing his wife. He sticks to the facts, and they are devastating. With the US already gripped by one drug epidemic, this book will make readers reconsider if marijuana use is worth the risk.
Call Number: eBOOK
Publication Date: 2019
Weed Land: Inside America's Marijuana Epicenter and How Pot Went Legit by Peter HechtEarly in the morning of September 5, 2002, camouflaged and heavily armed Drug Enforcement Administration agents descended on a terraced marijuana garden. The DEA raid on the Wo/Men s Alliance for Medical Marijuana, a sanctuary for severely ill patients who were using marijuana as medicine, is the riveting opening scene in "Weed Land, " an up-close journalistic narrative that chronicles a transformative epoch for marijuana in America.From the 1996 passage of California s Proposition 215, the nation s first medical marijuana law, through law enforcement raids, clinical studies that revealed medical benefits for cannabis, and the emergence of a lucrative cannabis industry, "Weed Land" reveals the changing political, legal, economic, and social dynamics around pot. Peter Hecht, an award-winning journalist from "The Sacramento Bee, "offers an independent, meticulously reported account of the clashes and contradictions of a burgeoning California cannabis culture that stoked pot liberalization across the country."
Call Number: eBOOK
Publication Date: 2017
Drugs, Drinking, Doping, and SPORTS
Athletes, Ethics, and Morality by Martin Gitlin (Editor)Athletes have a unique power in our world today. Their astronomical salaries, enviable lifestyles, and celebrity have tremendous influence over young people. This is reflected in advertising dollars as well as merchandise and ticket sales. For every athlete who uses their platform for charitable, political, and social good, there are many whose unethical or even criminal behavior sends the wrong message. What is the responsibility of athletes to their fans, to their teams, and to their leagues? How much responsibility do we hold for holding them in such high esteem? The viewpoints in this volume explore this complicated issue.
Of interest: Dave Berri -- Athletes are getting away with doping
Call Number: GV706.3 .A97 2019
Doping by Greenaven Press (Editor)Each title in the highly acclaimed Opposing Viewpoints series explores a specific issue by placing expert opinions in a unique pro/con format; the viewpoints are selected from a wide range of highly respected and often hard-to-find publications.; This title explores doping, including: why do athletes dope; should doping be banned; what are the effects of doping on sports; how should doping athletes be treated.; "Each volume in the Opposing Viewpoints Series could serve as a model not only providing access to a wide diversity of opinions, but also stimulating readers to do further research for group discussion and individual interest. Both shrill and moderate, th"
Call Number: RC1230 .D6575 2014
Publication Date: 2013
Performance-Enhancing Drugs by Roman Espejo"Opposing Viewpoints: Performance-Enhancing Drugs: Opposing Viewpoints is the leading source for libraries and classrooms in need of current-issue materials. The viewpoints are selected from a wide range of highly respected sources and publications"--
Call Number: RC1230 .P4762 2015
Rethinking Drinking in Sport by Catherine PalmerRethinking Drinking and Sport examines the complex nature of sport-related drinking. With close attention to the contradictory nature of sport-related drinking, this book considers both 'the problem' of drinking in sport, as well as some of the issues for treatment and recovery that sports-related drinking presents. Bringing together a range of methodological and theoretical debates that address the relationships between alcohol and sport, Rethinking Drinking and Sport draws on rich new interview material with fans and both drinking and non-drinking sportsmen and women, as well as documentary and media sources. Based on research across a variety of sports in the UK and Australia, Rethinking Drinking and Sport explores not only the relationship between alcohol, fans, participants and industry, but also questions of gender and identity to provide fresh insights into the complex relationships between drinking and sport. Examining possible directions for health and public policy in relation to sport-related drinking, this book will appeal to social scientists and policy makers with interests in consumption, leisure, sport, drinking, and health.
Call Number: eBOOK
Steroids by Aharon W. ZoreaA thorough, balanced examination of the controversies on the therapeutic and non-therapeutic use of steroids that covers both legal medical therapy and illegal performance enhancement. * Examines the historical trends leading to steroid use as part of social attitudes and problems related to self-image, competitiveness, and aging * Provides a thorough discussion of policy responses to steroid policy issues such as law enforcement and illegal trafficking, safety guidelines for medical practitioners, and unique considerations for youth protection * Includes a host of related primary document resources that support the discussion on steroid use * Supplies a detailed chronology of the major relevant events in steroid history, starting from the first discovery of synthetic versions of testosterone and including all major scandals in professional sports
Call Number: eBOOK
Steroids and Doping in Sports by David E. NewtonEmphasizing the controversy over performance-enhancing drugs in sports today, this book examines all aspects of steroid use on the human body across history, from ancient China and India to modern-day professional athletics. * Provides an extensive history on the use of performance enhancing drugs in athletics and sports, as well as in everyday life, from ancient civilizations to the present day * Spotlights the current controversy regarding whether steroids should be permitted in sports competition * Presents an in-depth discussion of potential health and psychological effects of steroid use, and identifies the pro and con arguments concerning steroid use in sports, athletics, and other settings * Derives information from source documents on laws and court cases as well as reports on steroid use
Addiction by Howard Padwa (Editor); Jacob Cunningham (Editor)A reference guide that answers the questions people have about addiction and addictive behaviors of all kinds, including drugs, alcohol, gambling, sex, Internet usage, and more. * Comprises 127 A-Z entries on major individuals, concepts, laws, organizations, and events in the history of addiction in the United States * 17 primary source documents highlight major ideas and developments in the history of addiction in the United States * Offers suggestions for further reading for readers interested in learning more about the topics examined in the encyclopedia
Call Number: eBOOK
Addiction and Responsibility by George Graham; Jeffrey PolandAddictive behavior threatens not just the addict's happiness and health but also the welfare and well-being of others. It represents a loss of self-control and a variety of other cognitive impairments and behavioral deficits. An addict may say, "I couldn't help myself." But questions arise: are we responsible for our addictions? And what responsibilities do others have to help us? This volume offers a range of perspectives on addiction and responsibility and how the two are bound together. Distinguished contributors -- from theorists to clinicians, from neuroscientists and psychologists to philosophers and legal scholars -- discuss these questions in essays using a variety of conceptual and investigative tools. Some contributors offer models of addiction-related phenomena, including theories of incentive sensitization, ego-depletion, and pathological affect; others address such traditional philosophical questions as free will and agency, mind-body, and other minds. Two essays, written by scholars who were themselves addicts, attempt to integrate first-person phenomenological accounts with the third-person perspective of the sciences. Contributors distinguish among moral responsibility, legal responsibility, and the ethical responsibility of clinicians and researchers. Taken together, the essays offer a forceful argument that we cannot fully understand addiction if we do not also understand responsibility.
Call Number: eBOOK
Brain-Robbers by Frances R. FrankenburgA psychiatrist examines how the world's four most important mind-altering substances-- alcohol, cocaine, nicotine, and opiates--have played a significant role throughout human history, and explains how these powerful drugs affect the brain and cause addiction. * Presents a historical review of four plant-derived drugs--alcohol, cocaine, nicotine, and opiates--and their effects throughout human civilization, as well as a fascinating exploration of the mystery and misery of addiction * Provides comprehensive explanations of medical and psychiatric effects of these drugs * Supplies stories of people who made discoveries about these drugs or who had their lives altered by them * Describes the discovery of the way in which the brain works * Includes illustrations of brain pathways and of the four plants of origin for these drugs, and maps showing drug trade triangles
Call Number: RC564 .F735 2014 eb
Brief Interventions for Adolescent Alcohol and Substance Abuse by Peter M. Monti (Editor); Suzanne M. Colby (Editor); Tracy O'Leary Tevyaw (Editor)Bringing together leading experts, this book demonstrates the unique value of brief motivational interventions for addressing adolescent alcohol and other substance use in a range of clinical contexts. It presents cutting-edge knowledge on the etiology and developmental context of adolescent addictive behaviors and reviews exemplary treatment approaches. Effective strategies are described for intervening with diverse populations, such as college students, youth in the justice system and in foster care, those with co-occurring substance abuse and psychiatric problems, LGBT youth, and Latino and American Indian adolescents. This book replaces the editors' influential earlier work, Adolescents, Alcohol, and Substance Abuse, with an expanded focus on practical applications. Most of the chapters are completely new.
Call Number: RJ506 .D78 B75 2018 eb
Children of the Drug War by Damon Barrett (Editor)Children--Social conditions
PSYCHOLOGY / Psychopathology / Addiction
SELF-HELP / Substance Abuse & Addictions / General
Call Number: eBOOK
Emerging Perspectives on Substance Misuse by Willm MistralCopy - Web Catalog: Emerging Perspectives on Substance Misuse addresses theoretical, practice and policy issues with regard to the problematic use of alcohol and illegal drugs. Comprises chapters from some of the most internationally well-known academics and practitioners representing a range of different specializations and perspectives in the field Presents a wide range of emerging evidence-based perspectives Includes content relevant for researchers, practitioners, and policy makers who work with individuals or policy related to drug and alcohol misuse Areas covered include - gender and substance use, working with children and families of substance misusers and the emerging recovery movement
Call Number: HV4998 .E44 2013
Genetic Influences on AddictionA comprehensive review of research examining intermediary mechanisms to understand the link between genetic variation and addiction liability. Although there is scientific consensus that genetic factors play a substantial role in an individual's vulnerability to drug or alcohol addiction, specific genetic variables linked to risk or resilience remain elusive. Understanding how genetic factors contribute to addiction may require focusing on intermediary mechanisms, or intermediate phenotypes, that connect genetic variation and risk for addiction. This book offers a comprehensive review of this mechanistic-centered approach and the most promising intermediate phenotypes identified in empirical research. The contributors first consider the most established findings in the field, including variability in drug metabolism, brain electrophysiological profiles, and subjective reactions to direct drug effects; they go on to review highly promising areas such as expectancies, attentional processing, and behavioral economic variables; and finally, they investigate more exploratory approaches, including the differential susceptibility hypothesis and epigenetic modifications. Taken together, the chapters offer a macro-level testing of the hypothesis that these alternative, mechanistic phenotypes can advance the understanding of genetic influences on addiction. The book will be of interest to researchers and practitioners in a range of disciplines, including behavioral genetics, psychology, pharmacology, neuroscience, and sociology. Contributors John Acker, Steven R.H. Beach, Gene H. Brody, Angela D. Bryan, Megan J. Chenoweth, Danielle M. Dick, Eske D. Derks, Mary-Anne Enoch, Meg Gerrard, Frederick X. Gibbons, Thomas E. Gladwin, Mark S. Goldman, Marcus Heilig, Kent E. Hutchison, Hollis C. Karoly, Steven M. Kogan, Man Kit Lei, Susan Luczak, James MacKillop, Renee E. Magnan, Leah M. Mayo, Marcus R. Munafò, Daria Orlowska, Abraham A. Palmer, Danielle Pandika, Clarissa C. Parker, Robert A. Philibert, Lara A. Ray, Richard R. Reich, Ronald L. Simons, Courtney J. Stevens, Rachel E. Thayer, Rachel F. Tyndale, Tamara L. Wall, Reinout W. Wiers, Michael Windle, Harriet de Wit
Call Number: eBOOK
How the Drug War Ruins American Lives by Arthur BenavieThis book reveals the disturbing truth about how the escalation of the War on Drugs over the past 30 years has eroded the human and property rights of Americans--while doing little to stop drug trafficking or use. * Shows that the War on Drugs has failed to achieve the goals that were originally set * Argues that this war continues to erode human and property rights * Explores how the climate of the War on Drugs is changing * Discusses the powerful actors that support the continued drug war * Shares provocative accounts of the impact of the drug war on regular citizens * Includes links to further reading and video evidence
Call Number: eBOOK
Illicit Drugs by Richard Isralowitz; Peter L. MyersSome 20 million Americans, or 8 percent of the population of the United States aged 12 and older, use marijuana, cocaine, heroin, amphetamines, ecstasy, or other illicit drugs. The cost to our society is enormousaemore than $300 billion annually for related expenses such as health care and treatment, social services, law enforcement, and losses due to crime
Call Number: eBOOK
Physical Illness and Drugs of Abuse by Adam J. Gordon
Call Number: eBOOK
Sexuality and Addiction by Raven JamesThis book provides an understanding of how sexuality and addiction are intertwined, helping those who counsel substance abusers and individuals who have experienced negative sexual messages or experiences to improve their sexual health and enjoyment.
Substance Abuse Prevention in Multicultural Communities by Jeanette Valentine; Judith Dejong
Call Number: eBOOK
Substance Use and Abuse by Kara Rogers (Editor)Consumed for a wide range of reasons, substances that alter a personOCOs mood and mind are widespread in most societies. Although many such substances initially had been valued for their medicinal properties, their usage can have health-endangering consequences, including habit formation. The misuse or abuse of legal and illicit drugs and alcohol engender numerous public health concerns over time. This analytical volume examines the physical, ethical, and public policy issues that have arisen as the result of excessive and inappropriate substance use."
Call Number: eBOOK
Theory of Addiction by Robert West; Jamie BrownThe word 'addiction' these days is used to refer to a chronic condition where there is an unhealthily powerful motivation to engage in a particular behaviour. This can be driven by many different factors - physiological, psychological, environmental and social. If we say that it is all about X, we miss V, W, Y and Z. So, some people think addicts are using drugs to escape from unhappy lives, feelings of anxiety and so on; many are. Some people think drugs become addictive because they alter the brain chemistry to create powerful urges; that is often true. Others think that drug taking is about seeking after pleasure; often it is. Some take the view that addiction is a choice - addicts weigh up the pros and cons of doing what they do and decide the former outweigh the latter. Yet others believe that addicts suffer from poor impulse control; that is often true... And so it goes on. When you look at the evidence, you see that all these positions capture important aspects of the problem - but they are not complete explanations. Neuroscience can help us delve more deeply into some of these explanations, while the behavioural and social sciences are better at exploring others. We need a model that puts all this together in a way that can help us decide what to do in different cases. Should we prescribe a drug, give the person some 'tender loving care', put them in prison or what? Theory of Addiction provides this synthesis. The first edition was well received: 'Throughout the book the reader is exposed to a vast number of useful observations...The theoretical aims are timely, refreshing, ambitious and above all challenging. It opens up a new way of looking at addiction and has the potential to move the field of addiction a considerable leap forward. Thus we wholeheartedly would like to recommend the book for students as well as scholars. Read and learn!' Nordic Studies on Alcohol and Drugs 'The book provides a comprehensive review of existing theories - over 30 in all - and this synthesis of theories constitutes an important contribution in and of itself... West is to be commended for his synthesis of addiction theories that span neurobiology, psychology and social science and for his insights into what remains unexplained.' Addiction This new edition of Theory of Addiction builds on the first, including additional theories in the field, a more developed specification of PRIME theory and analysis of the expanding evidence base. With this important new information, Theory of Addiction will continue to be essential reading for all those working in addiction, from student to experienced practitioner - as urged above, Read and learn!
Call Number: eBOOK
Your Brain on Food by Gary Lee WenkWhy is eating chocolate so pleasurable? Can the function of just one small group of chemicals really determine whether you are happy or sad? Does marijuana help to improve your memory in old age? Is it really best to drink coffee if you want to wake up and be alert? Why is a drug like PCP potentially lethal? Why does drinking alcohol make you drowsy? Do cigarettes help to relieve anxiety? What should you consume if you are having trouble staying in your chair and focusing enough to get your work done? Why do treatments for the common cold make us drowsy? Can eating less food preserve your brain? What are the possible side effects of pills that claim to make your smarter? Why is it so hard to stop smoking? Why did witches once believe that they could fly? In this book, Gary Wenk demonstrates how, as a result of their effects on certain neurotransmitters concerned with behavior, everything we put into our bodies has very direct consequences for how we think, feel, and act. The chapters introduce each of the main neurotransmitters involved with behavior, discuss its role in the brain, present some background on how it is generally turned on and off, and explain ways to influence it through what we consume.
Call Number: eBOOK
Tobacco and Smoking
Golden Holocaust by Robert N. ProctorThe cigarette is the deadliest artifact in the history of human civilization. It is also one of the most beguiling, thanks to more than a century of manipulation at the hands of tobacco industry chemists. In Golden Holocaust, Robert N. Proctor draws on reams of formerly-secret industry documents to explore how the cigarette came to be the most widely-used drug on the planet, with six trillion sticks sold per year. He paints a harrowing picture of tobacco manufacturers conspiring to block the recognition of tobacco-cancer hazards, even as they ensnare legions of scientists and politicians in a web of denial. Proctor tells heretofore untold stories of fraud and subterfuge, and he makes the strongest case to date for a simple yet ambitious remedy: a ban on the manufacture and sale of cigarettes.
Call Number: HD9135 .P76 2011
Public Health Advocacy and Tobacco Control by Simon ChapmanSimon Chapman is one of the world's leading advocates for tobacco control, having won the coveted Luther Terry and WHO medals. His experience straddles 30 years of activism, highly original research and analysis, having run advocacy training on every continent and editing the British Medical Journal's Tobacco Control research journal. In this often witty and personal book, he lays out a program for making smoking history. He eviscerates ineffective approaches, condemns overly enthusiastic policies which ignore important ethical principles, and provides a cookbook of strategy and tactics for denormalising smoking and the industry which promotes it. Public Health Advocacy and Tobacco Control is divided into two sections. The first contains chapters spanning such key topics as the place of advocacy in tobacco control, ethical issues, smoking cessation and prevention, harm reduction and product regulation and the denormalisation of smoking. The second section provides an invaluable A-Z of tobacco control advocacy strategy from Accuracy to Whistleblowers. 'I was fascinated, educated, and occasionally entertained by this broad and deep "manual" of how to do tobacco control in the 21st century.' Kenneth E. WarnerDean and Avedis Donabedian Distinguished University ProfessorSchool of Public Health, University of Michigan 'Simon Chapman's analysis provides the road map of what needs to be done, how it needs to be done and that it needs to be done with a sense of urgency. It is a required reading for all those who want to make a difference in the lives of many, especially our children.' Jeffrey Wigand, MA, Ph.D., MAT, Sc.D. aka "The Insider" Related Titles Manual of Smoking Cessation By Andy McEwen, Peter Hajek, Hayden McRobbie and Robert West ISBN: 9781405133371 ISBN10: 1405133376
Call Number: eBOOK
Tobacco and Smoking by Kelly Wand (Editor)Each title in the highly acclaimed Opposing Viewpoints series explores a specific issue by placing expert opinions in a unique pro/con format; the viewpoints are selected from a wide range of highly respected and often hard-to-find publications.; This addition to the popular Opposing Viewpoints series discusses a variety of issues related to tobacco use and smoking. Articles collected within this title examine whether or not tobacco use is a serious problem; the impact of tobacco regulation, such; "Each volume in the Opposing Viewpoints Series could serve as a model not only providing access to a wide diversity of opinions, but also stimulating readers to do further research for group discussion and individual interest. Both shrill and moderate, th"
Call Number: HV5760 .T615 2012
Publication Date: 2012-03-02
Biographies and Personal Narratives
Addicted. Pregnant. Poor by Kelly Ray KnightFor the addicted, pregnant, and poor women living in daily-rent hotels in San Francisco's Mission district, life is marked by battles against drug cravings, housing debt, and potential violence. In this stunning ethnography Kelly Ray Knight presents these women in all their complex humanity and asks what kinds of futures are possible for them given their seemingly hopeless situation. During her four years of fieldwork Knight documented women's struggles as they traveled from the street to the clinic, jail, and family court, and back to the hotels. She approaches addicted pregnancy as an everyday phenomenon in these women's lives and describes how they must navigate the tension between pregnancy's demands to stay clean and the pull of addiction and poverty toward drug use and sex work. By creating the space for addicted women's own narratives and examining addicted pregnancy from medical, policy, and social science perspectives, Knight forces us to confront and reconsider the ways we think about addiction, trauma, health, criminality, and responsibility.
Call Number: HV5824 .W6 K65 2015
The Big Fix by Tracey Helton MitchellAfter surviving nearly a decade of heroin abuse and hard living on the streets of San Francisco’s Tenderloin District, Tracey Helton Mitchell decided to get clean for good. With raw honesty and a poignant perspective on life that only comes from starting at rock bottom,The Big Fix tells her story of transformation from homeless heroin addict to stable mother of three--and the hard work and hard lessons that got her there. Rather than dwelling on the pain of addiction,Tracey focuses on her journey of recovery and rebuilding her life, while exposing the failings of the American rehab system and laying out a path for change. Starting with the first step in her recovery, Tracey re-learns how to interact with men, build new friendships, handle money, and rekindle her relationship with her mother, all while staying sober, sharp, and dedicated to her future. A decidedly female story of addiction,The Big Fix describes the unique challenges faced by women caught in the grip of substance abuse, such as the toxic connection between drug addition and prostitution. Tracey’s story of hope, hard work, and rehabilitation will inspire anyone who has been affected by substance abuse while offering hope for a better future.
Call Number: HV5805 .M57 A3 2016
Chasing the High by Kyle Keegan; Howard MossKyle Keegan was like many teenagers: eager to fit in at school, he experimented with alcohol and drugs. Soon, his abuse of these substances surpassed experimentation and became a ruthless addiction to heroin that nearly destroyed his life.Now in recovery, Keegan tells his remarkable story in Chasing the High. Starting with the early days of alcohol and drug use, Keegan charts his decline into crime and homelessness as his need for heroin surpassed all thoughts of family and friends, of right and wrong. He then goes on to use these experiences to offer guidance and practical advice to other young people who may be struggling with substance abuse. In straightforward, easy-to-understand language and along with the psychiatric expertise of Howard Moss, MD, Keegan discusses what is known about the neurobiology of addiction in young people, how to seek treatment, and how to get the most out of professional help. He also covers such topics as which therapies are used to combat addiction, how to talk to family and friends about substance abuse, and how to navigate risky situations. Both an absorbing memoir and a useful resource for young people.Part of the Adolescent Mental Health Initiative series of books written specifically for teens and young adults, Chasing the High is at once both an absorbing memoir and a useful resource. It offers hope to those who are struggling with substance abuse and will help them to overcome its challenges and to go on to lead healthy, productive lives.
Call Number: eBOOK
Double Double by Martha Grimes; Ken GrimesFrom the opening paragraphs of Double Double: "We were sitting in a coffee shop talking, looking at the view of downtown Charlottesville, Virginia. This was ten years ago, and we had both been off alcohol for more than a decade. We were disagreeing about the best way to stay sober when my mother said, 'I think we should write a book about alcoholism.' "I sat back. 'We?' "'Both of us. Two points of view.'" --from the Foreword Double Double is a unique, dual memoir of alcoholism, a disease that affects nearly 45 million Americans each year. People who suffer from alcoholism as well as their families and friends know that while it is possible to get sober, there is no one "right" way to do this. Now, award-winning mystery writer Martha Grimes and her son, Ken Grimes, offer two points of view on their struggles with alcoholism. In alternating chapters, they share their stories--stories of drinking, recovery, relapse, friendship, travel, work, success, and failure. For Martha, it was about drinking martinis at home, sometimes with friends, sometimes alone. For Ken, it was partying in bars and clubs. Each hit bottom. Martha spent time doing outpatient rehabilitation, once in 1990 and again two years later. Ken began twelve-step recovery. This candid memoir describes how different both the disease and the recovery can look in two different people--even two people who are mother and son. Double Double is an intensely personal and illuminating book, filled with insights, humor, a little self-deprecation, and a lot of self-evaluation. Anyone who has faced alcoholism will identify with parts of this book. All readers will find these pages revealing, moving, and compelling.
Call Number: PS3557 .R48998 Z46 2013
Lit by Mary KarrMary Karr's bestselling, unforgettable sequel to her beloved memoirs The Liars' Club and Cherry--and one of the most critically acclaimed books of the year--Lit is about getting drunk and getting sober; becoming a mother by letting go of a mother; learning to write by learning to live. The Boston Globe calls Lit a book that "reminds us not only how compelling personal stories can be, but how, in the hands of a master, they can transmute into the highest art." The New York Times Book Review calls it "a master class on the art of the memoir" in its Top 10 Books of 2009 Citation. Michiko Kakutani calls it "a book that lassos you, hogties your emotions and won't let you go" in her New York Times review. And Susan Cheever states, simply, that Lit is "the best book about being a woman in America I have read in years." In addition to the New York Times, Lit was named a Best Book of 2009 by the New Yorker (Reviewer Favorite), Entertainment Weekly (Top 10), Time (Top 10), the Washington Post, the San Francisco Chronicle, the Chicago Tribune, the Christian Science Monitor, Slate, the St. Louis Post Dispatch, the Cleveland Plain Dealer, and the Seattle Times.
Call Number: PS3561 .A6929 Z4683 2009
Memoirs of an Addicted Brain by Marc LewisMarc Lewis’s relationship with drugs began in a New England boarding school where, as a bullied and homesick fifteen-year-old, he made brief escapes from reality by way of cough medicine, alcohol, and marijuana. In Berkeley, California, in its hippie heyday, he found methamphetamine and LSD and heroin. He sniffed nitrous oxide in Malaysia and frequented Calcutta’s opium dens. Ultimately, though, his journey took him where it takes most addicts: into a life of addiction, desperation, deception, and crime. But unlike most addicts, Lewis recovered and became a developmental psychologist and researcher in neuroscience. In Memoirs of an Addicted Brain, he applies his professional expertise to a study of his former self, using the story of his own journey through addiction to tell the universal story of addictions of every kind. He explains the neurological effects of a variety of powerful drugs, and shows how they speak to the brain--itself designed to seek rewards and soothe pain--in its own language. And he illuminates how craving overtakes the nervous system, sculpting a synaptic network dedicated to one goal--more--at the expense of everything else.
Call Number: HV5805 .L495 A3 2012
Books on Library Shelves
The Addiction Solution by Lloyd SedererA groundbreaking examination of addiction from a psychiatrist and public health doctor, offering practical, proven solutions for individuals, families, and communities dealing with substance use and abuse. Written with warmth, accessibility, and vast authority, The Addiction Solution is a practical guide through the world of drug use and abuse and addiction treatment. Here, Lloyd I. Sederer, MD, brings together scientific and clinical knowledge, policy suggestions, and case studies to describe our current drug crisis and establish a clear path forward to recovery and health. In a time when so many people are affected by the addiction epidemic, when 142 people die of overdoses every day in the United States, principally from opioids, Sederer's decades of wisdom and clinical experience are needed more than ever before. With a timely focus on opioids, Sederer takes us through the proven essentials of addiction treatment and explains why so many of our current policies, like the lingering remnants of the War on Drugs, fail to help drug users, their families, and their wider communities. He identifies a key insight, often overlooked in popular and professional writing about addiction and its treatment: namely, that people who use drugs do so to meet specific needs, and that drugs may be the best solution those people currently have. Writing with generosity and empathy about the many Americans who use illicit and prescribed substances, Sederer lays out specific, evidence-based, researched solutions to the prevention and problems of drug use, including exercise, medications, therapy, recovery programs, and community services. In this challenging time, The Addiction Solution provides practical help, comfort, and hope.
Call Number: RC564.29 .S43 2018
The Anatomy of Addiction by Akikur MohammadAs compelling as it is informative and authoritative, The Anatomy of Addiction leads readers to a better understanding about the causes, prevention and treatment of addiction. It explains in layman's terms what constitutes effective, evidence-based addiction medicine and how to find it. Ultimately, the book provides actionable, scientific information for addicts and their families and details how to avoid so-called rehab clinics that are at best useless and at worst dangerous and even life threatening.
Call Number: RC564 .M634 2016
Are Your Prescriptions Killing You? by Armon B. Neel; Bill HoganAn award-winning pharmacist and an investigative journalist team up to uncover the dangers behind prescription drugs, showing how and why the elderly are at high risk, and explain what you can do to protect yourself and your loved ones. In an epidemic of overmedication, who can you turn to for help? You most certainly know someone whose life depends on the prescription drugs they take: it may be your husband, who takes sleeping pills to counteract the anxiety his heart medications cause him, or it may be your aging father, who takes upwards of twenty pills a day for everything from arthritis to high blood pressure. But we’ve all read the headlines: prescription drugs can kill you. If that’s the case, why are so many Americans, particularly those sixty and older, given so many pills, with no regard to how they interact with one another? Fifth-generation pharmacist Armon B. Neel, Jr., is on a mission to help patients understand how the medications they take can affect them—for better or worse. As a consulting pharmacist, he visits hospitals and nursing homes daily and counsels patients on how their prescriptions may be interacting dangerously with one another, and how they can reduce the number of medications they’re taking. Armon’s recommendations have been estimated to save $2.5 million a year in health-care costs, and more important, he’s saved thousands of lives. In 2010, the American Society of Consultant Pharmacists gave Armon its annual achievement award. The organization then announced that Neel so personified excellence in the field that the award would be renamed for him. In Are Your Prescriptions Killing You?, Armon reveals what you and your loved ones need to know about the risks, dangers, and benefits of prescription drugs. He explains what needs to be taken into account when prescribing medication to older patients and the catastrophic results that can occur when they’re not. Writing with veteran journalist Bill Hogan, Armon gives you the information you need to be certain that you’re getting the right dosage of the right medicine, and he arms you with the most effective questions to ask doctors. Armon also provides his own prescription for changing what he sees as the broken health-care system in the United States. Rich with real-life case studies, this groundbreaking book offers older people, who are most at risk—and the boomers who often care for them—a road map to better health. This gripping narrative provides essential information for anyone who depends on prescription medications, and reading it may save a loved one’s life.
Call Number: RM302.5 .N44 2012
Chemical Dependency by Roman EspejoEach title in the highly acclaimed Opposing Viewpoints series explores a specific issue by placing expert opinions in a unique pro/con format; the viewpoints are selected from a wide range of highly respected and often hard-to-find publications.; ; "Each volume in the Opposing Viewpoints Series could serve as a model...not only providing access to a wide diversity of opinions, but also stimulating readers to do further research for group discussion and individual interest. Both shrill and moderate, th
Call Number: HV4998 .C444 2011
Clean by David SheffAddiction is a preventable, treatable disease, not a moral failing. As with other illnesses, the approaches most likely to work are based on science — not on faith, tradition, contrition, or wishful thinking. These facts are the foundation ofClean, a myth-shattering look at drug abuse by the author of Beautiful Boy. Based on the latest research in psychology, neuroscience, and medicine,Cleanis a leap beyond the traditional approaches to prevention and treatment of addiction and the mental illnesses that usually accompany it. The existing treatment system, including Twelve Step programs and rehabs, has helped some, but it has failed to help many more, and David Sheff explains why. He spent time with scores of scientists, doctors, counselors, and addicts and their families to learn how addiction works and what can effectively treat it.Cleanoffers clear, cogent counsel for parents and others who want to prevent drug problems and for addicts and their loved ones no matter what stage of the illness they’re in. But it is also a book for all of us — a powerful rethinking of the greatest public health challenge of our time.
Call Number: RC564 .S497 2013
The Compass of Pleasure by David J. LindenA leading brain scientist's look at the neurobiology of pleasure-and how pleasures can become addictions. Whether eating, taking drugs, engaging in sex, or doing good deeds, the pursuit of pleasure is a central drive of the human animal. In The Compass of Pleasure Johns Hopkins neuroscientist David J. Linden explains how pleasure affects us at the most fundamental level: in our brain. As he did in his award-winning book, The Accidental Mind, Linden combines cutting-edge science with entertaining anecdotes to illuminate the source of the behaviors that can lead us to ecstasy but that can easily become compulsive. Why are drugs like nicotine and heroin addictive while LSD is not? Why has the search for safe appetite suppressants been such a disappointment? The Compass of Pleasure concludes with a provocative consideration of pleasure in the future, when it may be possible to activate our pleasure circuits at will and in entirely novel patterns.
Call Number: QP401 .L56 2011
Drug Abuse by Tamara L. RoleffOver 19 million Americans use illegal drugs, costing the nation billions of dollars every year and leading to untold suffering. In this anthology authors debate various issues related to drug abuse, including the causes of abuse and addiction, drug legalization, and the effectiveness of the war on drugs, drug testing, and drug treatment and education programs.
Call Number: HV5801 .D7236 2005
Drug Dealer, MD by Anna LembkeThree out of four people addicted to heroin probably started on a prescription opioid, according to the director of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. In the United States alone, 16,000 people die each year as a result of prescription opioid overdose. But perhaps the most frightening aspect of the prescription drug epidemic is that it's built on well-meaning doctors treating patients with real problems. In Drug Dealer, MD, Dr. Anna Lembke uncovers the unseen forces driving opioid addiction nationwide. Combining case studies from her own practice with vital statistics drawn from public policy, cultural anthropology, and neuroscience, she explores the complex relationship between doctors and patients, the science of addiction, and the barriers to successfully addressing drug dependence and addiction. Even when addiction is recognized by doctors and their patients, she argues, many doctors don't know how to treat it, connections to treatment are lacking, and insurance companies won't pay for rehab. Full of extensive interviews-with health care providers, pharmacists, social workers, hospital administrators, insurance company executives, journalists, economists, advocates, and patients and their families- Drug Dealer, MD, is for anyone whose life has been touched in some way by addiction to prescription drugs. Dr. Lembke gives voice to the millions of Americans struggling with prescription drugs while singling out the real culprits behind the rise in opioid addiction: cultural narratives that promote pills as quick fixes, pharmaceutical corporations in cahoots with organized medicine, and a new medical bureaucracy focused on the bottom line that favors pills, procedures, and patient satisfaction over wellness. Dr. Lembke concludes that the prescription drug epidemic is a symptom of a faltering health care system, the solution for which lies in rethinking how health care is delivered.
Call Number: RM319 .L46 2016
Drug Legalization by Noël Merino (Editor)Each anthology is composed of a wide spectrum of primary sources written by many of the foremost authorities in their respective fields This unique approach provides students with a concise view of divergent opinions on each topic Extensive book and periodical bibliographies and a list of organizations to contact are also included
Call Number: HV5825 .D77667 2015
Fast Food Genocide by Joel Fuhrman; Robert PhillipsFrom the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Eat to Live and The End of Diabetes, an unflinching, provocative exploration of how our food is killing us and the ways in which we are unwitting participants in an unprecedented and exploding health crisis. Fast food is far more than just the burgers, fries, and burritos served at chain restaurants; it is also the toxic, human-engineered products found in every grocery store across America. These include: cold breakfast cereals; commercial and preserved (deli) meats and cheeses; sandwich breads and buns; chips, pretzels, and crackers; fried foods; energy bars; and soft drinks. Fast foods have become the primary source of calories in the United States and consequently the most far-reaching and destructive influence on our population. The indisputable truth is that our highly processed diet is the source of a national health crisis that is exploding into a genocide with unseen tragic implications. Heart attacks, strokes, cancer, obesity, ADHD, autism, allergies, and autoimmune diseases all have the same root cause - our addiction to toxic ingredients. New York Times bestselling author, board-certified physician, nutritional researcher, and leading voice in the health field Joel Fuhrman, M.D., explains why the problem of poor nutrition is deeper, more serious, and more pervasive than anyone imagined. Fast Food Genocide draws on twenty-five years of clinical experience and research to confront our fundamental beliefs about the impact of what we eat. This book identifies issues at the heart of our country's most urgent problems. Fast food kills, but it also perpetuates bigotry and derails the American dream of equal opportunity and happiness for all. It leaves behind a wake of destruction creating millions of medically dependent and sickly people burdened with poor-quality lives. The solution hiding in plain sight -- a nutrientdense healthful diet -- can save lives and enable humans to reach their intellectual potential and achieve successful and fulfilling lives. Dr. Fuhrman offers a life-changing, scientifically sound approach that can alter American history and perhaps save your life in the process.
Call Number: TX357 .F84 2017
Harm Reduction by Barbara Krasner (Editor)The war on drugs has done little to curb drug use. Accidental drug overdose is the second-leading cause of injury-related deaths for young people. Enter harm reduction, a philosophy that accepts the idea that drug use is inevitable and that making it safer is a more realistic approach. But is harm reduction merely enabling dangerous and potentially deadly behavior? Does distributing clean needles to drug addicts send the wrong message? Is abstinence the only way to stop people from engaging in risky behavior? Experts on several sides of the debate offer perspectives on this fascinating issue.
Call Number: RC564.65 .H367 2019
Heroin by Nicole HorningYoung adults who abuse prescription opioids may turn to heroin later on, as it gives the same type of high but can be cheaper and easier to obtain than prescriptions. Knowing the health risks associated with heroin abuse can help young adults avoid falling into the traps of both kinds of drugs. Incorporating full-color photographs and detailed charts, this volume illustrates the severe health threat heroin poses. A list of antidrug organizations is provided for readers to learn more about this dangerous drug epidemic.
Call Number: HV5822 .H4 H67 2017
High Stakes by Sam SkolnikWhat the explosive growth of legalized gambling means socially, politically, and economically for America. Forty years ago, casinos were legal in just one state. Today, legalized gambling has morphed into a $119 billion industry established in all but two states. As elected officials are urging voters to expand gambling's reach, the industry's supporters and their impassioned detractors are squaring off in prolonged state-by-state battles. Millions of Americans are being asked to decide: are the benefits worth the costs? With a blend of investigative journalism and poignant narratives of gambling addiction, award-winning journalist Sam Skolnik provides an in-depth exploration of the consequences of this national phenomenon. In High Stakes, we meet politicians eager to promote legalized gambling as an economic cure-all, scientists wrestling with the meaning of gambling addiction, and players so caught up in the chase that they've lost their livelihoods and their minds.
Call Number: HV6715 .S56 2011
How to Change Your Mind by Michael PollanThe #1 New York Times bestseller. A brilliant and brave investigation into the medical and scientific revolution taking place around psychedelic drugs--and the spellbinding story of his own life-changing psychedelic experiences When Michael Pollan set out to research how LSD and psilocybin (the active ingredient in magic mushrooms) are being used to provide relief to people suffering from difficult-to-treat conditions such as depression, addiction and anxiety, he did not intend to write what is undoubtedly his most personal book. But upon discovering how these remarkable substances are improving the lives not only of the mentally ill but also of healthy people coming to grips with the challenges of everyday life, he decided to explore the landscape of the mind in the first person as well as the third. Thus began a singular adventure into various altered states of consciousness, along with a dive deep into both the latest brain science and the thriving underground community of psychedelic therapists. Pollan sifts the historical record to separate the truth about these mysterious drugs from the myths that have surrounded them since the 1960s, when a handful of psychedelic evangelists inadvertently catalyzed a powerful backlash against what was then a promising field of research. A unique and elegant blend of science, memoir, travel writing, history, and medicine, How to Change Your Mind is a triumph of participatory journalism. By turns dazzling and edifying, it is the gripping account of a journey to an exciting and unexpected new frontier in our understanding of the mind, the self, and our place in the world. The true subject of Pollan's "mental travelogue" is not just psychedelic drugs but also the eternal puzzle of human consciousness and how, in a world that offers us both suffering and joy, we can do our best to be fully present and find meaning in our lives.
Call Number: RM324.8 .P65 2018
Inside Rehab by Anne M. FletcherAn eye-opening tour of the addiction treatment industry explores the gap between what should happen and what does What happens inside drug and alcohol rehabilitation centers and how rehab works are a mystery to those outside the industry - and sometimes even to those inside it. Anne M. Fletcher is a trusted New York Times bestselling health and medical writer who visited 15 addiction treatment centers--from outpatient programs for the indigent to famous celebrity rehabs; from the sites of renowned Twelve-Step centers to several unconventional programs--to find out what really happens. What she reveals ranges from inspirational to irresponsible, and, in some cases, potentially dangerous. Real Stories: As always with her books, Fletcher gets the inside story by turning to real people who "have been there," interviewing more than 100 individuals whose compelling stories illustrate serious issues facing people in rehab and endemic in the rehab industry today. Connected Writer and Researcher who has earned the respect (and cooperation) of experts throughout the fields she's taken on. Inside Rehab is no exception--Fletcher has interviewed more than 100 professionals working in the field, including a mix of rehab staffers and administrators as well as leading academics. Rehab is constantly covered in the media, as celebrities battle their drug and alcohol issues in the spotlight and reality TV puts recovery in prime time. Addiction is no longer only a personal struggle--it's a pop culture phenomenon. Myth Busting: Fletcher exposes twelve supposed facts for the falsehoods they are, including "rehab is necessary for most people to recover from addictions;" "highly trained professionals provide most of the treatment in addiction programs;" and "drugs should not be used to treat a drug addict." Fletcher's most important finding is the alarming discrepancy between the treatments being employed at many rehab centers and the treatments recommended by leading experts and supported by scientific research. Guidance and Practical Solutions: Inside Rehab also highlights what is working, spotlights state-of-the-art programs and practices, and offers advice and guidance for people seeking quality care and treatment for themselves or those they care about. Inside Rehab is the first book to give readers a thoughtful, sensitive, and bracingly honest insider's view of the drug and alcohol rehab industry in America. For people seeking quality care for themselves or a loved one, Inside Rehab is essential reading, offering a wealth of accurate information and wise guidance.
Call Number: RC564 .F54 2013
Irresistible by Adam Alter"One of the most mesmerizing and important books I've read in quite some time. Alter brilliantly illuminates the new obsessions that are controlling our lives and offers the tools we need to rescue our businesses, our families, and our sanity." --Adam Grant, New York Times bestselling author of Originals and Give and Take Welcome to the age of behavioral addiction--an age in which half of the American population is addicted to at least one behavior. We obsess over our emails, Instagram likes, and Facebook feeds; we binge on TV episodes and YouTube videos; we work longer hours each year; and we spend an average of three hours each day using our smartphones. Half of us would rather suffer a broken bone than a broken phone, and Millennial kids spend so much time in front of screens that they struggle to interact with real, live humans. In this revolutionary book, Adam Alter, a professor of psychology and marketing at NYU, tracks the rise of behavioral addiction, and explains why so many of today's products are irresistible. Though these miraculous products melt the miles that separate people across the globe, their extraordinary and sometimes damaging magnetism is no accident. The companies that design these products tweak them over time until they become almost impossible to resist. By reverse engineering behavioral addiction, Alter explains how we can harness addictive products for the good--to improve how we communicate with each other, spend and save our money, and set boundaries between work and play--and how we can mitigate their most damaging effects on our well-being, and the health and happiness of our children. Adam Alter's previous book, Drunk Tank Pink: And Other Unexpected Forces that Shape How We Think, Feel, and Behave is available in paperback from Penguin.
Call Number: HM851 .A437 2017
Lethal but Legal by Nicholas FreudenbergDecisions made by the food, tobacco, alcohol, pharmaceutical, gun, and automobile industries have a greater impact on today's health than the decisions of scientists and policymakers. As the collective influence of corporations has grown, governments around the world have stepped back fromtheir responsibility to protect public health by privatizing key services, weakening regulations, and cutting funding for consumer and environmental protection. Today's corporations are increasingly free to make decisions that benefit their bottom line at the expense of public health. Lethal but Legal examines how corporations have impacted - and plagued - public health over the last century, first in industrialized countries and now in developing regions. It is both a current history of corporations' antagonism towards health and an analysis of the emerging movements that arechallenging these industries' dangerous practices. The reforms outlined here aim to strike a healthier balance between large companies' right to make a profit and governments' responsibility to protect their populations. While other books have addressed parts of this story, Lethal but Legal is the first to connect the dots between unhealthy products, business-dominated politics, and the growing burdens of disease and health care costs. By identifying the common causes of all these problems, then situating them inthe context of other health challenges that societies have overcome in the past, this book provides readers with the insights they need to take practical and effective action to restore consumers' right to health.
Call Number: RA441 .F74 2014
Overcoming Opioid Addiction by Adam Bisaga; Karen ChernyaevFrom a leading addiction expert, a desperately needed medical guide to understanding, treating, and finally defeating opioid use disorder Drug overdoses are now the leading cause of death for Americans under the age of 50, claiming more lives than the AIDs epidemic did at its peak. Opioid abuse accounts for two-thirds of these overdoses, with over 100 Americans dying from opioid overdoses every day. Now Overcoming Opioid Addiction provides a comprehensive medical guide for opioid use disorder (OUD) sufferers, their loved ones, clinicians, and other professionals. Here is expertly presented, urgently needed information and guidance, including: Why treating OUD is unlike treating any other form of drug dependency The science that underlies addiction to opioids, and a clear analysis of why this epidemic has become so deadly The different stages and effective methods of treatment, including detoxification vs. maintenance medications, as well as behavioral therapies How to deal with relapses and how to thrive despite OUD Plus a chapter tailored to families with crucial, potentially life-saving information, such as how to select the best treatment program, manage medications, and reverse an overdose.
Call Number: RC568 .O45 B57 2018
The Recovering by Leslie JamisonPresents an exploration of addiction that blends memoir, cultural history, literary criticism, and journalistic reportage to analyze the role of stories in conveying the addiction experience, sharing insights based on the lives of artists whose achievements were shaped by addiction.-- Adapted from dust jacket.
Call Number: HV4998 .J36 2018
Should the Legal Drinking Age Be Lowered? by Stefan Kiesbye (Editor)These books provide a range of opinions on a social issue; each volume focuses on a specific issue and offers a variety of perspectives, e.g., eyewitness accounts, governmental views, scientific analysis, newspaper accounts, to illuminate the issue.; This title explores whether the MLDA has been effective, efforts to lower the MLDA, impact of MLDA on the safety of women, and legal drinking age outside the US.; Greenhaven Press's At Issue series provides a wide range of opinions on individual social issues. Enhancing critical thinking skills, each At Issue volume is an excellent research tool to help readers understand current social issues and prepare reports.
Call Number: HV5135 .S57 2013
Teens at Risk by Stephen Thompson (Editor)Each title in the highly acclaimed Opposing Viewpoints series explores a specific issue by placing expert opinions in a unique pro/con format; the viewpoints are selected from a wide range of highly respected and often hard-to-find publications.; This title explores factors that put teens at risk including: food choices, depression, alcohol and drugs, violent video games, bullying, issues related to sexuality and gender, and poverty.; "Each volume in the Opposing Viewpoints Series could serve as a model...not only providing access to a wide diversity of opinions, but also stimulating readers to do further research for group discussion and individual interest. Both shrill and moderate, th
Call Number: 9780737764307
The Thirteenth Step by Markus HeiligThe past thirty years have witnessed a revolution in the science of addiction, yet we still rely on outdated methods of treatment. Expensive new programs for managing addiction are also flourishing, but since they are not based in science, they offer little benefit to people who cannot afford to lose money or faith in their recovery. Clarifying the cutting-edge science of addiction for both practitioners and general readers, The Thirteenth Step pairs stories of real patients with explanations of key concepts relating to their illness. A police chief who disappears on the job illustrates the process through which a drug can trigger the brain circuits mediating relapse. One person's effort to find a burrito shack in a foreign city illuminates the reward prediction error signaled by the brain chemical dopamine. With these examples and more, this volume paints a vivid, readable portrait of drug seeking, escalation, and other aspects of addiction and suggests science-based treatments that promise to improve troubling relapse rates. Merging science and human experience, The Thirteenth Step offers compassionate, valuable answers to anyone who hopes for a better handle on a confounding disease.
Call Number: RC564 .H45 2015
Unbroken Brain by Maia SzalavitzMore people than ever before see themselves as addicted to, or recovering from, addiction, whether it be alcohol or drugs, prescription meds, sex, gambling, porn, or the internet. But despite the unprecedented attention, our understanding of addiction is trapped in unfounded 20th century ideas, addiction as a crime or as brain disease, and in equally outdated treatment. Challenging both the idea of the addict's "broken brain" and the notion of a simple "addictive personality," The New York Times Bestseller,Unbroken Brain, offers a radical and groundbreaking new perspective, arguing that addictions are learning disorders and shows how seeing the condition this way can untangle our current debates over treatment, prevention and policy. Like autistic traits, addictive behaviors fall on a spectrum -- and they can be a normal response to an extreme situation. By illustrating what addiction is, and is not, the book illustrates how timing, history, family, peers, culture and chemicals come together to create both illness and recovery- and why there is no "addictive personality" or single treatment that works for all. Combining Maia Szalavitz's personal story with a distillation of more than 25 years of science and research,Unbroken Brainprovides a paradigm-shifting approach to thinking about addiction. Her writings on radical addiction therapies have been featured inThe Washington Post, Vice Magazine, The Wall Street Journal, andThe New York Times, in addition to multiple other publications. She has been interviewed about her book on many radio shows including Fresh Air with Terry Gross and The Brian Lehrer show.
Call Number: RC564 .S975 2016
Digital, internet, Gaming
Death by Video Game by Simon Parkin"The finest book on video games yet. Simon Parkin thinks like a critic, conjures like a novelist, and writes like an artist at the height of his powers--which, in fact, he is." --Tom Bissell, author of Extra Lives: Why Video Games Matter On January 31, 2012, a twenty-three-year-old student was found dead at his keyboard in an internet café while the video game he had been playing for three days straight continued to flash on the screen in front of him. Trying to reconstruct what had happened that night, investigative journalist Simon Parkin would discover that there have been numerous other incidents of "death by video game." And so begins a journey that takes Parkin around the world in search of answers: What is it about video games that inspires such tremendous acts of endurance and obsession? Why do we so thoroughly lose our sense of time and reality within this medium? How in the world can people play them . . . to death? In Death by Video Game, Parkin examines the medical evidence and talks to the experts to determine what may be happening, and introduces us to the players and game developers at the frontline of virtual extremism: the New York surgeon attempting to break the Donkey Kong world record . . . the Minecraft player three years into an epic journey toward the edge of the game's vast virtual world . . . the German hacker who risked prison to discover the secrets behind Half-Life 2 . . . Riveting and wildly entertaining, Death by Video Game will change the way we think about our virtual playgrounds as it investigates what it is about them that often proves compelling, comforting, and irresistible to the human mind--except for when it's not.
Call Number: GV1469.17 .S63 P368 2016
Glow Kids by Nicholas KardarasWe've all seen them: kids hypnotically staring at glowing screens in restaurants, in playgrounds and in friends' houses--and the numbers are growing. Like a virtual scourge, the illuminated glowing faces--the Glow Kids--are multiplying. But at what cost? Is this just a harmless indulgence or fad like some sort of digital hula-hoop? Some say that glowing screens might even be good for kids--a form of interactive educational tool. Don't believe it. InGlow Kids, Dr. Nicholas Kardaras will examine how technology--more specifically, age-inappropriate screen tech, with all of its glowing ubiquity--has profoundly affected the brains of an entire generation. Brain imaging research is showing that stimulating glowing screens are as dopaminergic (dopamine activating) to the brain's pleasure center as sex. And a growing mountain of clinical research correlates screen tech with disorders like ADHD, addiction, anxiety, depression, increased aggression,and even psychosis. Most shocking of all, recent brain imaging studies conclusively show that excessive screen exposure can neurologically damage a young person's developing brain in the same way that cocaine addiction can. Kardaras will dive into the sociological, psychological, cultural, and economic factors involved in the global tech epidemic with one major goal: to explore the effect all of our wonderful shiny new technology is having on kids.Glow Kids also includes an opt-out letter and a "quiz" for parents in the back of the book.
Call Number: RJ506 .I58 K37 2016
Internet Addiction by Kimberly S. Young (Editor); Cristiano Nabuco de Abreu (Editor)Internet Addiction: A Handbook and Guide to Evaluation and Treatment "This book provides cutting-edge coverage by expanding the field to include specific problems such as online gaming, cybersex addiction, and gambling addiction. Its extensive attention to dealing with adolescents is essential, given the rapid rise in media and technology use by both Net Generation young adults and iGeneration teenagers. I am thrilled to have this invaluable, comprehensive, well-written resource for my own work and recommend it to people who need to understand this unique form of addiction." --Dr. Larry Rosen, Past Chair and Professor of Psychology at California State University, Dominguez Hills, author of Rewired: Understanding the iGeneration and the Way They Learn and Me, MySpace, and I: Parenting the Net Generation "Our clients come to us when online pornography, video gaming, social networking, gambling, and surfing create untenable disruptions in their lives. If we do not understand what we are seeing and how to address it, we will not be able to provide the help they need. This book provides the practical information clinicians can use to assess and treat this growing problem." --Hilarie Cash, PhD, coauthor of Video Games and Your Kids: How Parents Stay in Control, and cofounder of reSTART: Internet Addiction Recovery Program "Internet Addiction: A Handbook and Guide to Evaluation and Treatment provides an integrated and current overview of the different types of Internet addiction-gaming addiction, gambling addiction, and cybersex addiction. The authors deserve ample praise in providing such a comprehensive and informative guide for Internet addiction." --Ran Tao, MD, Professor and Director, and Xiuqin Huang, MD, Associate Professor, Treatment Center for Internet Addiction, General Hospital of Beijing Military Region, China The first empirically informed reference for defining, assessing, diagnosing, and treating problematic Internet use Comprehensive and timely, Internet Addiction explores: Validated assessment tools to differentiate normal from compulsive patterns of computer and online usage The most addictive or problematic online activities Epidemiology and subtypes of Internet addiction such as online pornography, Internet gambling, and online gaming Current theories on the risk factors associated with the development of an addictive disorder related to Internet usage Evidence-based treatment strategies for helping clients of various ages, taking into account main presenting problems and individual situations and circumstances International in scope and empirically based, the cultural and global impact of this subject is discussed, introducing practitioners to the latest clinical implications, assessment methods, and treatment approaches in working with clients suffering from this emerging addictive disorder.