Citations and Credible Sources MLA, APA, Chicago

Learn what makes a credible source and how to evaluate and cite information, including sources found on the Internet

Ask A Librarian in EBSCO

Click on the Ask A Librarian link available at the top bar of all pages in EBSCO databases 

EBSCO Ask A Librarian icon

Enter your personal email. A message containing your email and search strategy will be sent to the Shasta College librarian. Expect a response within one business day. 

Using Boolean to narrow your search

Search Commands

 

*

asterisk

to truncate words at their roots or stemsemploy

employ* for 

employ, employed, and employment

“  “

quotation marks

to enclose a phrase or name

"work environment"

 

OR

 

to connect related terms

policy or policies or solution

(   )

parentheses

To nest terms when for searches with multiple commands

(workplace or job or career)

 

AND

 

to combine multiple facets

(workplace or job or career) AND Family-friendly policies

 

Combining search terms (Boolean)

EBSCO Search Tips

Scroll to Limit Your Results

  • Select for complete articles
  • Limit to academic journals only and publication date, as necessary

 limiters to scholarly journals and publication date

EBSCO Database Tips

  • Print your articleEBSCO print icon
  • Email your articleEBSCO email icon
  • Get a computer generated citation for your articleEBSCO cite icon

Note: To access these databases from the Shasta College webpage: shastacollege.edu/library 

  • Select Articles & Databases from the left hand green tool bar and then select Academic Search Premier Collection
    • Click on Choose Databases to simultaneously search additional EBSCO databases such as Psychology & Behavioral Sciences or Greenfile

Searching Ebsco Databases - Video