Research Guides: Agriculture: Databases

Journal and Magazine Articles from Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This scholarly collection of more than 8,200 publications offers information in nearly every area of academic study, many in full text.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and general-interest journal articles focusing on the environment. Topics include global climate change, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
MasterFILE Complete This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues, biographies, and more in full text.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
This subscription database provides authoritative information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and much more.
Military and Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Use this database if you are researching any regulations or laws around agriculture.

Agricola This link opens in a new window
Produced by the National Agricultural Library that indexes literature of veterinary medicine. It contains citations to journal articles (many with abstracts), government publications, technical reports, and conference proceedings. Coverage is 1970-present.
JSTOR Archival Journals & Primary Sources Collection This link opens in a new window
An archival collection of over 2000 peer reviewed academic journals in the social sciences, sciences, math, and humanities.

“Cornish cross” AND (poultry or chicken)

**Search Commands**
*	Asterisk	Wildcard. Cuts word at root. Increases results.	hybrid* = hybrid, hybridization, hybrids….
" "	quotation marks	Encloses a phrase or name. Greatly reduces results.	“defensible space” “invasive species” "Cornish cross"
OR		Connects related terms. Increases results.	(wolf or wolves or coyote*) (cattle or heifer or steer) (poultry or chicken)
AND		Combine multiple ideas. Reduces results.	(coyote* or wolf or wolves) and hybrid*

US Newsstream (1980 to current) This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage of the following major newspapers: New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, 1985 – to current date. Record Searchlight 2011- to current date.