Databases - ASL - Deaf and Hard-of-Hearing Community - Research Guides at Shasta College

Magazine and journal databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This scholarly collection of more than 8,200 publications offers information in nearly every area of academic study, many in full text.
MasterFILE Complete This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues, biographies, and more in full text.
America, History and Life This link opens in a new window
Database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for over 1,700 journals from 1955 to present. Also includes citations and links to book and media reviews.

Newspaper collections

US Newsstream (1980 to current) This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage of the following major newspapers: New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, 1985 – to current date. Record Searchlight 2011- to current date.
Access World News - California Newspapers and others This link opens in a new window
Full-text newspapers including statistics, quotes, facts, analysis, historical perspectives, obituaries and more. Local newspapers such as Chico News included along with San Francisco Chronicle and Sacramento Bee. An easy to use map-based interface allows flexible searching by newspaper, state, and region.

Search examples

(deaf* or hearing) and biography

deafness

("hearing loss" or deafness) and biography

deaf* and biography

(coda or "children of deaf parents") and biography

Deaf culture

Otology

("American Sign Language" or ASL)

(deaf or "hard of hearing") and ("social network*" or facebook or instagram)

When searching for specific people put quotation marks around names:

"Helen Keller"

"Douglas Tilden"

"Laura Bridgman"

Journals available through interlibrary loan

The following core journals are not available at the Shasta College Library, but individual articles may be requested by emailing us at askalibrarian@shastacollege.edu.

Sign Language Studies

Library

About

Research

Support

ASL - Deaf and Hard-of-Hearing Community

Magazine and journal databases

Newspaper collections

Search examples

Journals available through interlibrary loan