Social Movements

Resources to support the Civic Expo projects on social movements.

EBSCO Database Tips

  • Print your articleEBSCO print icon
  • Email your articleEBSCO email icon
  • Get a computer generated citation for your articleEBSCO cite icon

Note: To access these databases from the Shasta College webpage: shastacollege.edu/library 

  • Select Articles & Databases from the left hand green tool bar and then select Academic Search Premier Collection
    • Click on Choose Databases to simultaneously search additional EBSCO databases such as MasterFILE Premier

EBSCO Search Tips

Scroll to Limit Your Results

  • Select for complete articles
  • Limit to academic journals only and publication date, as necessary

 limiters to scholarly journals and publication date

EBSCO Databases

Ask A Librarian in EBSCO

Click on the Ask A Librarian link available at the top bar of all pages in EBSCO databases 

EBSCO Ask A Librarian icon

Enter your personal email. A message containing your email and search strategy will be sent to the Shasta College librarian. Expect a response within one business day. 

Using Boolean to narrow your search

Search Commands

 

*

asterisk

to truncate words at their roots or stems

safe* for 

safe and safety

“  “

quotation marks

to enclose a phrase or name

“gun control” 

 

OR

 

to connect related terms

global OR international

(   )

parentheses

To nest terms when for searches with multiple commands

(global OR international)

 

AND

 

to combine multiple facets

(global OR international) AND safe* AND “gun control”

Databases for Controversial Issues

Newspaper Collections

Proquest Database Tips

  • Get a computer generated citation for your article by clicking Proquest cite icon. Scroll to Change Citation Style and select MLA 7th edition.
  • Use the other icons to print and email articles Proquest icons

Note: To access this database from the Shasta College webpage: shastacollege.edu/library 

  • Select Articles & Databases from the left hand green menu
  • Search to find Proquest National Newspapers Core