Research Guides: Social Movements: Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This scholarly collection of more than 8,200 publications offers information in nearly every area of academic study, many in full text.
MasterFILE Complete This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues, biographies, and more in full text.
Military and Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides full text articles from nearly 300 journals and magazines covering current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains the full text of articles, many peer reviewed, covering topics in psychology, sociology, anthropology, and psychiatry.

Note: To access these databases from the Shasta College webpage: shastacollege.edu/library

Select Articles & Databases from the left hand green tool bar and then select Academic Search Premier Collection
- Click on Choose Databases to simultaneously search additional EBSCO databases such as MasterFILE Premier.

Scroll to Limit Your Results

SIRS Issues Researcher (for opposing viewpoints on controversial issues) This link opens in a new window
Provides articles exploring social, scientific, health, historic, business, economic, political, and global issues. A helpful list of popular topics is included as well as current issues organized in a “Pro/Con” argument format.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
A weekly publication providing original, in-depth analysis of the most current major and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, all the pros and cons, bibliographies and more.

US Newsstream (1980 to current) This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage of the following major newspapers: New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, 1985 – to current date. Record Searchlight 2011- to current date.
Access World News - California Newspapers and others This link opens in a new window
See special topics for social movements.

Proquest Database Tips

Get a computer generated citation for your article by clicking . Scroll to Change Citation Style and select MLA 7^th edition.
Use the other icons to print and email articles

Note: To access this database from the Shasta College webpage: shastacollege.edu/library

*Search Commands*
*	asterisk	to truncate words at their roots or stems	safe* for safe and safety
“ “	quotation marks	to enclose a phrase or name	“gun control”
OR		to connect related terms	global OR international
( )	parentheses	To nest terms when for searches with multiple commands	(global OR international)
AND		to combine multiple facets	(global OR international) AND safe* AND “gun control”