Research Guides: Wildfires: Databases

EBSCO Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This scholarly collection of more than 8,200 publications offers information in nearly every area of academic study, many in full text.
MasterFILE Complete This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues, biographies, and more in full text.

Combining Keywords for searching

Keywords:

forest fire, wildfire, wildland fire, peat fire, agricultural fire, prescribed fire, agricultural burning, bushfire, landscape fire, or biomass burning

AND

public health, human health, population health, community health, epidemiol*, toxicol*, firefighter or "fire fighter", respiratory, lung function, asthma, cardiovascular, ocular, birth outcomes, birth weight, pre-term birth, psychological, mental health, PTSD (post-traumatic stress disorder), physiological, biomarker, cancer, mortality, or chamber

Samples: Searching for Topics with Keywords

Combine search words to find articles:

amazon AND ("rain forest*" or rainforest*) AND (fire* or wildfire*) AND ("global warming" or "climate change")

wildfire* AND (recovery or restoration)

"wildland urban interface" AND "defensible space"

wildfire* AND (lung or respiratory) AND (disease* or illness or chronic) AND (smoke or particulate*)

(Shasta or Redding) AND (fire* or wildfire*)

("fuel reduction" or "defensible space") AND wildfire*

wildfire* or "forest fire*" AND cause* AND prevent* or ignit*

Wildfire* AND fraud* AND (insurance or contractor*)

Wildfire articles available online (general)

Planning for Wildfire in the Wildland-Urban Interface: A Guide for Western Communities MOST OF THE TECHNIQUES FOR WILDFIRE PLANNING in the Wildland-Urban Interface ("WUI") (pronounced "Woo-E") have been known for a long time, and they do not necessarily preclude or significantly impede development.
Review of the health effects of wildland fire smoke on wildland firefighters and the public Wildland fire smoke exposure is typically experienced on two levels: the community/general public level and occupationally among wildland firefighters.
Of Owls and Salamanders. ONE IS A BIRD OF PREY that lives in the old-growth, coniferous forests of western North America; the other is a terrestrial amphibian restricted to a single mountain range in New Mexico. One can fly great distances across the landscape in search of food, mates and better living conditions; the other stays mostly underground and may not travel more than a few feet in its lifetime. For all their differences, both the California spotted owl (Strix occidentalis occidentalis) and the Jemez Mountains salamander (Plethodon neomexicanus) are experiencing similar alterations to their respective habitats. One of these significant change agents is wildfire.
Out of the Ashes WILDFIRE-ADAPTED DESIGN Architects rethink residential design strategies in the wake of last year's destructive California wildfires. Wildland-Urban Interface (WUI).

Search for articles in national newspapers (includes LA Times)

US Newsstream (1980 to current) This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage of the following major newspapers: New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, 1985 – to current date. Record Searchlight 2011- to current date.

California Wildfires, articles and podcasts from databases and select websites

2018 The Future in Flames. The link between climate change and wildfires is fairly straightforward. Warmer temperatures transform the fire season into a year-round phenomenon while dry weather kills off vegetation, creating fast-burning tinder.
Burn. Rebuild. Repeat. Ball, J. (2019). Burn. Build. Repeat. Mother Jones, 45(5), 40-64.
California Spotted Owl, Songbird, and Small Mammal Responses to Landscape Fuel Treatments A principal challenge of federal forest management has been maintaining and improving habitat for sensitive species in forests adapted to frequent, low- to moderate-intensity fire regimes that have become increasingly vulnerable to uncharacteristically severe wildfires.
Climate Change and Future Fire Regimes: Examples from California : Climate and weather have long been noted as playing key roles in wildfire activity, and global warming is expected to exacerbate fire impacts on natural and urban ecosystems. Predicting future fire regimes requires an understanding of how temperature and precipitation interact to control fire activity. Inevitably this requires historical analyses that relate annual burning to climate variation.
FACED WITH MORE WILDFIRES AND GROWING POPULATIONS, COMMUNITIES LIKE PARADISE, CALIF., WORK TO MITIGATE FIRE RISK SEARCHING FOR SOLUTIONS: AN ENR SERIES. The article reports on the efforts of communities in the U.S. to be more resilient band become more prepared for and recover from natural disasters in response to the destruction caused by the wildfire...
Gone (Camp Fire). California Sunday Magazine. Arax, M. (31 July 2019). Gone: Decades of greed, neglect, corruption, and bad politics led to last year’s Paradise fire, the worst in California history. It should never have happened. It will happen again. California Sunday Magazine.
Paradise: Before and after the Camp Fire (podcast)
Simon, M. (2018 Nov. 9). Camp Fire: The Terrifying Science Behind California's Massive Camp Fire. Wired.
Why California's Wildfires Are So Destructive, in 5 Charts. (2018 Nov. 16). FiveThirtyEight.

Library

About

Research

Support

Wildfires