Coasts in Crisis by Gary B. GriggsCoastal regions around the world have become increasingly crowded, intensively developed, and severely exploited. Hundreds of millions of people living in these low-lying areas are subject to short-term coastal hazards such as cyclones, hurricanes, and destruction due to El Niño, and are also exposed to the long-term threat of global sea-level rise. These massive concentrations of people expose often-fragile coastal environments to the runoff and pollution from municipal, industrial, and agricultural sources as well as the impacts of resource exploitation and a wide range of other human impacts. Can environmental impacts be reduced or mitigated and can coastal regions adapt to natural hazards? Coasts in Crisis is a comprehensive assessment of the impacts that the human population is having on the coastal zone globally and the diverse ways in which coastal hazards impact human settlement and development. Gary Griggs provides a concise overview of the individual hazards, risks, and issues threatening the coastal zone.
Call Number: GB451.2 .G75 2017
The California Naturalist Handbook by Greg de Nevers; Deborah Stanger Edelman; Adina MerenlenderThe California Naturalist Handbook provides a fun, science-based introduction to California's natural history with an emphasis on observation, discovery, communication, stewardship and conservation. It is a hands-on guide to learning about the natural environment of California. Subjects covered include California natural history and geology, native plants and animals, California's freshwater resources and ecosystems, forest and rangeland resources, conservation biology, and the effects of global warming on California's natural communities. The Handbook also discusses how to create and use a field notebook, natural resource interpretation, citizen science, and collaborative conservation and serves as the primary text for the California Naturalist Program.
A digital collection with over 6,000 texts including encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and guides.
Books on Library Shelves (available for 3 week loan)
Anthropocene by Erle C. EllisThe proposal that the impact of humanity on the planet has left a distinct footprint, even on the scale of geological time, has recently gained much ground. Global climate change, shifting global cycles of the weather, widespread pollution, radioactive fallout, plastic accumulation, species invasions, the mass extinction of species - these are just some of the many indicators that we will leave a lasting record in rock, the scientific basis for recognizing new time intervals in Earth's history. The "Anthropocene," as the proposed new epoch has been named, is regularly in the news. Even with such robust evidence, the proposal to formally recognize our current time as the Anthropocene remains controversial both inside and outside the scholarly world, kindling intense debates. The reason is clear. The Anthropocene represents far more than just another interval of geologic time. Instead, the Anthropocene has emerged as a powerful new narrative, a concept through which age-old questions about the meaning of nature and even the nature of humanity are being revisited and radically revised. This Very Short Introduction explains the science behind the Anthropocene and the many proposals about when to mark its beginning: The nuclear tests of the 1950s? The beginnings of agriculture? The origins of humans as a species? Erle Ellis considers the many ways that the Anthropocene's "evolving paradigm" is reshaping the sciences, stimulating the humanities, and foregrounding the politics of life on a planet transformed by humans. The Anthropocene remains a work in progress. Is this the story of an unprecedented planetary disaster? Or of newfound wisdom and redemption? Ellis offers an insightful discussion of our role in shaping the planet, and how this will influence our future on many fronts. ABOUT THE SERIES: The Very Short Introductions series from Oxford University Press contains hundreds of titles in almost every subject area. These pocket-sized books are the perfect way to get ahead in a new subject quickly. Our expert authors combine facts, analysis, perspective, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make interesting and challenging topics highly readable.
Call Number: GF75 .E49 2018
The Ends of the World by Peter BrannenNew York Times Editors' Choice 2017 Forbes Top 10 Best Environment, Climate, and Conservation Book of 2017 As new groundbreaking research suggests that climate change played a major role in the most extreme catastrophes in the planet's history, award-winning science journalist Peter Brannen takes us on a wild ride through the planet's five mass extinctions and, in the process, offers us a glimpse of our increasingly dangerous future Our world has ended five times: it has been broiled, frozen, poison-gassed, smothered, and pelted by asteroids. In The Ends of the World, Peter Brannen dives into deep time, exploring Earth's past dead ends, and in the process, offers us a glimpse of our possible future. Many scientists now believe that the climate shifts of the twenty-first century have analogs in these five extinctions. Using the visible clues these devastations have left behind in the fossil record, The Ends of the World takes us inside "scenes of the crime," from South Africa to the New York Palisades, to tell the story of each extinction. Brannen examines the fossil record--which is rife with creatures like dragonflies the size of sea gulls and guillotine-mouthed fish--and introduces us to the researchers on the front lines who, using the forensic tools of modern science, are piecing together what really happened at the crime scenes of the Earth's biggest whodunits. Part road trip, part history, and part cautionary tale, The Ends of the World takes us on a tour of the ways that our planet has clawed itself back from the grave, and casts our future in a completely new light.
Call Number: QE721.2 .E97 B73 2017
Lakes by Warwick F. Vincent"From the mysterious depths of Lake Vostok, Antarctica, to tropical floodplain lakes, inland bodies of water share many distinctive features. How are they formed? Can 'dead lakes' be revived? What can lakes tell us about Earth's past and present? Warwick Vincent explains the main aspects of lake science, or limnology. Using examples from across the world, he describes the environmental features and ecology of lakes, and their value to society. Outlining the mportance of sustaining these complex ecosystems, he considers the impact of factors such as climate, seasons, salinity, and oxygen on lake biodiversity, and the threats imposed by rising human populations and climate change." -from the inside cover.
Call Number: QH541.5 .L3 V56 2018
Burning Planet by Andrew C. ScottRaging wildfires have devastated vast areas of California and Australia in recent years, and predictions are that we will see more of the same in coming years, as a result of climate change. But this is nothing new. Since the dawn of life on land, large-scale fires have played their part inshaping life on Earth.Andrew Scott tells the whole story of fire's impact on our planet's atmosphere, climate, vegetation, ecology, and the evolution of plant and animal life. It has caused mass extinctions, and it has propelled the spread of flowering plants. The exciting evidence we can now draw on has been preserved in fossilized charcoal, found in rocks hundreds of millions of years old, from all over the world. These reveal incredibly fine details of prehistoric plants, and tell us about climates from deep in earth's history. They also give usinsight into how early hominids and humans tamed fire and used it. Looking at the impact of wildfires in our own time, Scott also looks forward to how we might better manage them in future, as climate change has an increasing effect on our world.
Call Number: GN416 .S44 2018
Extreme Weather Events by Marcia Amidon Lusted (Editor)In the wake of every killer hurricane, devastating wild fire, severe drought, or once-in-a-century flooding event, it has become commonplace for scientists, politicians, and ordinary citizens to debate whether or not these severe weather events can be tied directly to climate change and global warming. The scientific consensus generally indicates that we are beginning to see upticks in extreme weather due to warming and the resulting shift in weather patterns. Certain politicians, business interests, and energy executives, however, forcefully reject such connections as unproven and speculative. Where does the truth lie? This anthology collects the strongest viewpoints from across the ideological spectrum and the globe and allows readers to evaluate the arguments and evidence for themselves before forming an educated opinion.
Call Number: QC903 .E977 2018
Censored 2018 by Mickey Huff (Editor); Andy Lee Roth (Editor); Project Censored (Editor); Khalil Bendib (Illustrator)o(Censored) should be affixed to the bulletin boards in every newsroom in America. And, perhaps, read aloud to a few publishers and television executives.o-RALPH NADER The annual yearbook from Project Censored features the year's most underreported news stories, striving to unmask censorship, self-censorship, and propaganda in corporate-controlled media outlets. Featuring the top 25 most underreported stories, as voted by scholars, journalists, and activists across the country and around the world, as well as chapters exploring timely issues from the previous year with more in-depth analysis. Story Locale-N/A Series Overview-Every year since 1976, Project Censored, our nation's oldest news-monitoring group, has produced a Top 25 list of underreported new stories and a book, Censored, dedicated to the stories that ought to be top features on the nightly news, but that are missing because of media bias and self-censorship. A perennial favorite of booksellers, teachers, and readers everywhere, Censored is one of the strongest lifesigns of our current collective desire to get the news we citizens need-despite what Big Media tells us. Seven Stories Press has been publishing this yearbook since 1994.
Call Number: PN4888 .P6 C435 2017
Economics for the Common Good by Jean Tirole; Keith Tribe; Steven RendallFrom Nobel Prize-winning economist Jean Tirole, a bold new agenda for the role of economics in society When Jean Tirole won the 2014 Nobel Prize in Economics, he suddenly found himself being stopped in the street by complete strangers and asked to comment on issues of the day, no matter how distant from his own areas of research. His transformation from academic economist to public intellectual prompted him to reflect further on the role economists and their discipline play in society. The result is Economics for the Common Good, a passionate manifesto for a world in which economics, far from being a "dismal science," is a positive force for the common good. Economists are rewarded for writing technical papers in scholarly journals, not joining in public debates. But Tirole says we urgently need economists to engage with the many challenges facing society, helping to identify our key objectives and the tools needed to meet them. To show how economics can help us realize the common good, Tirole shares his insights on a broad array of questions affecting our everyday lives and the future of our society, including global warming, unemployment, the post-2008 global financial order, the euro crisis, the digital revolution, innovation, and the proper balance between the free market and regulation. Providing a rich account of how economics can benefit everyone, Economics for the Common Good sets a new agenda for the role of economics in society.
Call Number: HB173 .T5713 2017
Paranoid Science by Antony AlumkalExplores the Christian Right's fierce opposition to science, explaining how and why its leaders came to see scientific truths as their enemy For decades, the Christian Right's high-profile clashes with science have made national headlines. From attempts to insert intelligent design creationism into public schools to climate change denial, efforts to "cure" gay people through conversion therapy, and opposition to stem cell research, the Christian Right has battled against science. How did this hostility begin and, more importantly, why has it endured? Antony Alumkal provides a comprehensive background on the war on science--how it developed and why it will continue to endure. Drawing upon Richard Hofstadter's influential 1965 essay "The Paranoid Style in American Politics," Antony Alumkal argues that the Christian Right adopts a similar paranoid style in their approach to science. Alumkal demonstrates that Christian Right leaders see conspiracies within the scientific establishment, with scientists not only peddling fraudulent information, but actively concealing their true motives from the American public and threatening to destroy the moral foundation of society. By rejecting science, Christian Right leaders create their own alternative reality, one that does not challenge their literal reading of the Bible. While Alumkal recognizes the many evangelicals who oppose the Christian Right's agenda, he also highlights the consequences of the war on reality--both for the evangelical community and the broader American public. A compelling glimpse into the heart of the Christian Right's anti-science agenda, Paranoid Science is a must-read for those who hope to understand the Christian Right's battle against science, and for the scientists and educators who wish to stop it.
Call Number: BL240.3 .A48 2017
Drawdown by Paul Hawken; Tom Steyer (Foreword by)In Drawdown, renowned environmentalist Paul Hawken has assembled a team of over 200 scholars, scientists, policymakers, business leaders and activists to illustrate the hundred most substantive solutions to combat climate change that together will not only slow down the growth of carbon emissions, but reverse them altogether. Put into action together, these solutions will mobilise society into taking the climate change conversation from problem definition to problem solving, from fear and apathy to collaboration and regeneration.
State of the World 2015 by The Worldwatch The Worldwatch InstituteWe think we understand environmental damage: pollution, water scarcity, a warming world. But these problems are just the tip of the iceberg. Food insecurity, financial assets drained of value by environmental damage, and a rapid rise in diseases of animal origin are among the underreported consequences of an unsustainable global system. In State of the World 2015, the flagship publication of The Worldwatch Institute, experts explore hidden threats to sustainability and how to address them. How will nations deal with migration as climate change refugees cross borders in order to escape flooding, drought, or other extreme weather events? What will happen to the price and availability of fossil energy--the foundation of industrial civilization--as these resources oscillate between surplus and scarcity? If perpetual economic growth on a finite planet is impossible, what are the alternatives? Can national governments manage the transition? Eight key issues are addressed in depth, along with the central question of how we can develop resilience to these and other shocks. For decades, The Worldwatch Institute has been a leader in identifying and analyzing emerging environmental threats. With the latest edition of State of The World, the authorities at Worldwatch bring to light challenges we can no longer afford to ignore.
Call Number: HC79 .E5 S738 2015
The Attacking Ocean by Brian FaganThe past fifteen thousand years--the entire span of human civilization--have witnessed dramatic sea level changes, which began with rapid global warming at the end of the Ice Age, when sea levels were more than 700 feet below modern levels. Over the next eleven millennia, the oceans climbed in fits and starts. These rapid changes had little effect on those humans who experienced them, partly because there were so few people on earth, and also because they were able to adjust readily to new coastlines. Global sea levels stabilized about six thousand years ago except for local adjustments that caused often quite significant changes to places like the Nile Delta. So the curve of inexorably rising seas flattened out as urban civilizations developed in Egypt, Mesopotamia, and South Asia. The earth's population boomed, quintupling from the time of Christ to the Industrial Revolution. The threat from the oceans increased with our crowding along shores to live, fish, and trade. Since 1860, the world has warmed significantly and the ocean's climb has speeded. The sea level changes are cumulative and gradual; no one knows when they will end.The Attacking Ocean, from celebrated author Brian Fagan, tells a tale of the rising complexity of the relationship between humans and the sea at their doorsteps, a complexity created not by the oceans, which have changed but little. What has changed is us, and the number of us on earth.
Call Number: GC89 .F35 2013
Online eBooks (Available 24/7)
Dangerous years : climate change, the long emergency, and the way forward by Orr, David W.Climate change is often thought of in terms of rising temperatures, more variable precipitation, and increasing carbon dioxide, with impacts on both the terrestrial and aquatic ecosystems. The prevailing thought is that reducing the carbon dioxide levels will eliminate or at least reduce the impacts of climate change. Orr (emer., Oberlin College) thoroughly argues that climate change is more complex than the physical manifestations of increasing carbon dioxide levels in the atmosphere. The impacts of climate change are a delicate balance of economics, sociology, political structures, and the willingness of the human race to understand the complexity of the problem and even more importantly, the complexity of the solution.
Call Number: QC903 .O77 2016 eb
The great derangement : climate change and the unthinkable by Ghosh, AmitavThis vitally important book looks at how anthropogenic climate change affects literary production, particularly the novelistic imagination. Although global warming is desperately real, because of the politics of the carbon economy novels that address climate crisis tend to be relegated to the outpost of science fiction and "banish[ed] from the preserves of serious fiction" (part 1, "Stories"). A tour de force examination of how humans have changed the environment, which in turn alters literary representation, the book unfolds with dazzling insights. Ghosh argues that the Anthropocene should resist sci-fi because the impending disaster is not located in a future time or place. Linking the way the poor will be drastically affected by rising sea levels and strong hurricanes, Ghosh asserts that climate change reverses the temporality of modernity because "those at the margins are now the first to experience the future that awaits all of us."
Call Number: PN56 .C612 G48 2016 eb
Facing Climate Change by Jeffrey T. KiehlFacing Climate Change explains why people refuse to accept evidence of a warming planet and shows how to move past partisanship to reach a consensus for action. Jeffrey T. Kiehl examines the psychological phenomena that twist our relationship to the natural world and their role in shaping the cultural beliefs that distance us further from nature. Kiehl encourages policy makers and activists to appeal to our interdependence as a global society.
Call Number: BF353.5 .C55 K54 2016 eb
Living with Climate Change by Jane A. Bullock; George D. Haddow; Kim S. Haddow; Damon P. CoppolaThe climate has changed and communities across America are living with the consequences: rapid sea level rise, multi-state wildfires, heat waves, and enduring drought. Living with Climate Change: How Communities Are Surviving and Thriving in a Changing Climate details the steps cities are taking now to protect lives and businesses, to reduce their vulnerability, and to adapt and make themselves more resilient. The authors included in this book have been directly involved in the successful design and implementation of community-based adaptation and resilience programs. In this book, they apply decades of combined experience in hazard risk reduction, climate change adaptation, and environmental protection to provide timely and practical advice on how to plan for and live with a climate that is changing faster and more erratically than predicted. The book also examines obstacles to local, state, and national action on climate change, includes case studies to illustrate smart, effective policies and practices that have already been put in place, and defines how these actions benefit the economy, the environment, and public health. Living with Climate Change provides much-needed guidance for finding and enacting solutions to immediate and future risks of climate change.
Call Number: QC981.8 .C5 eb
The Madhouse Effect by Michael E. Mann; Tom TolesThe award-winning climate scientist Michael E. Mann and the Pulitzer Prize-winning political cartoonist Tom Toles have been on the front lines of the fight against climate denialism for most of their careers. They have witnessed the manipulation of the media by business and political interests and the unconscionable play to partisanship on issues that affect the well-being of billions. The lessons they have learned have been invaluable, inspiring this brilliant, colorful escape hatch from the madhouse of the climate wars. The Madhouse Effect portrays the intellectual pretzels into which denialists must twist logic to explain away the clear evidence that human activity has changed Earth's climate. Toles's cartoons collapse counter-scientific strategies into their biased components, helping readers see how to best strike at these fallacies. Mann's expert skills at science communication aim to restore sanity to a debate that continues to rage against widely acknowledged scientific consensus. The synergy of these two climate science crusaders enlivens the gloom and doom of so many climate-themed books-and may even convert die-hard doubters to the side of sound science.
Climatology Versus Pseudoscience by Dana NuccitelliThis book explains the science of climate change in plain language and shows that the 2 to 4 percent of climate scientists who are skeptical that humans are the main cause of global warming are a fringe minority--and have a well-established history of being wrong. * Provides a unique, scientifically backed, and easily understood evaluation of the global temperature predictions made by both climate change skeptics and mainstream climate scientists * Presents readers with a plethora of concrete, verifiable evidence for the author's claims--information that holds the skeptics and deniers accountable for their history of being wrong regarding their assertions * Discusses possible solutions to climate change, such as carbon emissions pricing--a concept that has gained bipartisan support among economists
Betting the Farm on a Drought by Seamus McGraw"This book takes a survey of climate change today: it lays out for the everyman what is happening, why it's happening, and what some people are doing about it. But rather than get mired in polemics or scientific jargon, as so many other books have done, Tempest tackles the issue through the people who are dealing with it--scientists, yes, but also fishermen and farmers who, even if they're not ready to concede global warming is a manmade problem, are adapting to a world of stronger storms and more intense droughts in creative ways. By telling such human stories, McGraw hopes to move readers beyond partisan divisions and into the much-needed common ground. Otherwise, as he says, "if the melting ice caps and rising oceans don't get us, we're all going to drown in the viscera of each other's gored oxen.""-- Provided by publisher.
A case for climate engineering by Keith, David W.Engineering the world's sunshine -- Climate risk -- Science -- Technology and design -- Ethics and politics -- Prospect.
Climate change mitigation.
Global warming--Prevention. Environmental engineering.
Sulfuric acid--Environmental aspects. Environmental geotechnology. Environmental policy.
Environmental science by Dauray, James.Encompassing ecology, physics, chemistry, biology, geology, atmospheric science, and geography, environmental science can be an intimidating subject to study. Dauray provides easy-to-follow lessons on the most important concepts and issues in the field.
Global Energy Innovation by Woodrow W. Clark; Grant CookeThe world is entering the Third Industrial Revolution, an era of remarkable progress in science and technology that will require a global shift away from reliance on fossil-fuel and carbon-based energy. This book explains how America can lead the effort to reverse global warming and become the world leader in global energy innovation. * Describes numerous examples of Europe and Asia's emerging activities in the Third Industrial Revolution, as well as the EU and Asia's historical and current activities in climate change mitigation, renewable energy technologies, and economic models to promote the green revolution * Covers new technologies across the globe, ranging from single-hut solar energy generation for African villages to industrial-scale wind farms in Mongolia * Includes materials from the United Nations and information from scientific studies on climate change, global population growth, and environmental degradation * Offers directions for the creation of successful public policies and sustainability strategies on a community level, from colleges and universities to towns and cities * Details the benefits that the United States could enjoy in this new era of energy innovation
The Carbon Crunch by Dieter HelmDespite commitments to renewable energy and two decades of international negotiations, global emissions continue to rise. Coal, the most damaging of all fossil fuels, has actually risen from 25% to almost 30% of world energy use. And while European countries have congratulated themselves on reducing emissions, they have increased their carbon imports from China and other developing nations, who continue to expand their coal use. As standards of living increase in developing countries, coal use can only increase as well--and global temperatures along with it. In this hard-hitting book, Dieter Helm looks at how and why we have failed to tackle the issue of global warming and argues for a new, pragmatic rethinking of energy policy--from transitioning from coal to gas and eventually to electrification of transport, to carbon pricing and a focus on new technologies. Lucid, compelling and rigorously researched, this book will have a lasting impact on how we think about climate change.
What We Know about Climate Change by Kerry EmanuelA renowned climatologist--and political conservative--assesses current scientific understanding of climate change and sounds a call to action. The vast majority of scientists agree that human activity has significantly increased greenhouse gases in the atmosphere--most dramatically since the 1970s. Yet global warming skeptics and ill-informed elected officials continue to dismiss this broad scientific consensus. In this new edition of his authoritative book, MIT atmospheric scientist Kerry Emanuel--a political conservative--outlines the basic science of global warming and how the current consensus has emerged. He also covers two major developments that have occurred since the first edition: the most recent round of updated projections from the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change climate simulations, and the so-called "climategate" incident that heralded the subsequent collapse of popular and political support in the United States for dealing with climate change.
Search for eBOOKS in Gale Virtual Reference Library