Skip to Main Content

ENGL 1C - Critical Reasoning

Library resources to support Critical Reasoning, Reading & Writing

Databases

Academic Search Complete
This scholarly collection of more than 8,200 publications offers information in nearly every area of academic study, many in full text.
America, History and Life
Database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for over 1,700 journals from 1955 to present. Also includes citations and links to book and media reviews.
Black Life in America
Newspapers and resources focused on African American history. Includes newspapers covering the African American experience.
eBooks for Ethnic Studies
eBooks that are included with the Ethnic Diversity Source database.
European Views of the Americas: 1493-1750
A comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. The history of European exploration, portrayals of Native American peoples, natural disasters, disease, and slavery are some of the subjects covered.
Hispanic Life in America
Newspapers and primary source documents covering Hispanic American life.
JSTOR Archival Journals & Primary Sources Collection
An archival collection of over 2000 peer reviewed academic journals in the social sciences, sciences, math, and humanities.
MasterFILE Complete
A multidisciplinary database covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues, biographies, and more in full text.
Military and Government Collection
Provides full text articles from nearly 300 journals and magazines covering current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government.

Databases for Controversial Issues

SIRS Issues Researcher (for opposing viewpoints on controversial issues)
Provides articles exploring social, scientific, health, historic, business, economic, political, and global issues. A helpful list of popular topics is included as well as current issues organized in a “Pro/Con” argument format.
CQ Researcher
A weekly publication providing original, in-depth analysis of the most current major and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, all the pros and cons, bibliographies and more.

Newspapers

US Newsstream (1980 to current)
Full text coverage of the following major newspapers: New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, 1985 – to current date. Record Searchlight 2011- to current date.
Access World News - California Newspapers and world
Full-text newspapers including statistics, quotes, facts, analysis, historical perspectives, obituaries and more. Local newspapers such as Chico News included along with San Francisco Chronicle and Sacramento Bee. An easy to use map-based interface allows flexible searching by newspaper, state, and region.