American History by
Milestone Documents is a new series combining full-text primary source documents with engaging, readable analysis. Plus free online access to the full content of this great reference set is available.""Exploring the Primary Sources That Shaped America"" launches the Schlager Group's ""Milestone Documents"". This series brings primary source documents and insightful analysis to Salem's history offerings. The series is also a key part of Salem History, the new online database available free to purchasers of the print edition.Primary source documents have always occupied a central role in the study of history. Most existing reference sources, however, treat these documents as an afterthought. This new series - the focus of a new imprint by the Schlager Group, and available exclusively through Salem Press - fills the gap by offering students and researchers in-depth, analytical essays illuminating famous primary source documents from U.S. and world history.The first publication in this remarkable series is ""Milestone Documents in American History: Exploring the Primary Sources That Shaped America"". This fully illustrated, four-volume series will treat more than 130 iconic documents from the Revolutionary era to the twenty-first century.""Milestone Documents in American History"" offers an innovative approach to historical reference. Each entry includes the full text of the document in question as well as an in-depth, analytical essay that places the document in its historical context. With content aligned to the National History Standards and signed essays written by a team of nearly 100 esteemed historians, ""Milestone Documents in American History"" offers an unparalleled reference tool for students conducting primary source research.Among the documents included in the set are Revolutionary era standards such as Patrick Henry's ""Liberty or Death"" speech, the Declaration of Independence, and the Constitution. Important presidential sources include Thomas Jefferson's first inaugural address, Abraham Lincoln's Gettysburg Address, John F. Kennedy's 1963 address on integration, and George W. Bush's address on September 11, 2001. Influential decisions of the Supreme Court are also included, from Brown v. Board of Education to Bush v. Gore. Critical documents related to minority rights are also present: Andrew Jackson's message ""On Indian Removal,"" the Seneca Falls Declaration, Martin Luther King, Jr.'s ""I Have a Dream"" speech, and the Equal Rights Amendment.Special features include a general subject index, an index by category, and hundreds of photographs and other images. In addition, history educators will find eight detailed and useful teacher's guides containing dozens of student activities.
Cold War: a Student Encyclopedia [5 Volumes] by
Primary sources.
Daily Life Through World History in Primary Documents [3 Volumes] by
Who did the ancient Greeks describe as the world's best athlete? What does the Koran say about women's rights? How has the digital revolution changed life in the modern age? From the law courts of ancient Iraq to bloody Civil War battlefields, explore the daily lives of people from major world cultures throughout history, as presented in their own words. Bringing useful and engaging material into world history classrooms, this rich collection of historical documents and illustrations provides insight into major cultures from all continents. Hundreds of thematically organized, annotated primary documents, and over 100 images introduce aspects of daily life throughout the world, including domestic life, economics, intellectual life, material life, politics, religion, and recreation, from antiquity to the present. Document selections are guided by the National Standards for World History, providing a direct tie to the curriculum. Analytical introductions explain the key features and background of each document, and create links between documents to illustrate the interrelationship of thoughts and customs across time and cultures. Volume 1: The Ancient World covers the major civilizations from ancient Sumeria (3000 BCE) through the fall of Imperial Rome (476 CE), including Egypt, Greece, and Israel, and also covers China and India during the births of Hinduism, Buddhism, and Confucianism. Volume 2: The Middle Ages and Renaissance covers the development of European culture from the Germanic migrations of the fifth century CE through the university movement of the late middle ages, and the sixteenth-century growth of global empires and the collapse of the kingship in seventeenth-century England. Also covered are the Native empires of the Americas and the rise of Islamic culture throughout the Middle East and Africa. Volume 3: The Modern World spans the period from the Enlightenment through modern Internet era and global economy, including the founding of the United States, colonial and post-colonial life in Latin America and Africa, and the growth of international cultures and new economies in Asia. Document sources include: The code of Hammurabi, The Manu Smrti, Seneca's On Mercy, Josephus's Jewish Antiquities, The Koran, Dante's Divine Comedy, Bernal Diaz del Castillo's The True History of the Conquest of Mexico, The Travels of Marco Polo, Brahmagupta's principles of mathematics and astronomy, The Mayan Popul Vuh, the diary of a Southern plantation wife during the Civil War, and letters from an American soldier in Vietnam Thematically organized sections are supplemented with a glossary of terms, a glossary of names, a timeline of key events, and an annotated bibliography. Document selections are guided by the National Standards for World History, providing a direct tie to the curriculum. This collection is an invaluable source for students of material history, social history, and world history.
The Spanish-American War by
Primary sources.
Twentieth Century China by
Primary docs. In its period of slow decline from the late 18th into the early 20th century and throughout its 20th century revolution, one of the most important problems facing individual Chinese and China as a nation was choosing appropriate political, social, cultural, and economic identities as contextsand situations changed. This documentary history of 20th century China begins with the turn-of-the-century Boxer uprising to set the stage for understanding the choices at stake for 20th century Chinese. It then focuses on the always-dramatic choices of identity that have continually confronted theChinese. In many cases these choices have meant life or death. Above all, this is a story of the people whose choices propelled modern Chinese history. It is a dramatic tale, often bloody and violent, alternately soaring with hope and plunging into bleak despair. It compels our interest because ofits importance for the world today; because it is one of world history's greatest revolutions; and because it provides an extraordinarily interesting study of the processes that an ancient culture undergoes in transforming itself into that which we call "modern."Twentieth-Century China: A History in Documents uses an exceptional range of primary sources, including government edicts, political cartoons, poetry, political manifestos, essays, fiction, magazine covers and advertisements, wills, trial transcripts, speeches, statistics, press releases, and evenChinese rock lyrics. The entire book is profusely illustrated with graphics that themselves serve as documents, and there is also a picture essay. Back matter will include a chronology, further reading, and index.
Voices of a People's History of the United States, 10th Anniversary Edition by
Voices Of A People's History Of The United States includes selected testimonies to living history left by the people who make history happen but are often left out of history books - women, workers, non-whites. Also included are introductions to the original texts by Zinn. New voices being considered for this tenth Anniversary Edition include Chelsea Manning, in the statement she made after being sentenced to 35 years in prison and a member of The Dream Defenders (a youth organisation that confronts systemic racial inequality).
