Women in American History: A Social, Political, and Cultural Encyclopedia and Document CollectionThis four-volume set documents the complexity and richness of women's contributions to American history and culture, empowering all students by demonstrating a more populist approach to the past.- Provides significantly more detail than typical reference works on women's history and culture, enabling readers to better appreciate the contributions of women of all socio-cultural statuses- Covers the astounding range of American women's experience, including women of various economic and racial statuses, religious affiliations, political and ideological identifications, and sexualities- Includes a significant selection of primary documents, thereby combining the educational power of secondary and primary literature to create a richer learning experience for users
The PresidentsThe first edition of The Presidents was named Best Reference Book by Library Journal, and is recognized as the standard reference on our presidents. Now updated with articles on Reagan, Bush, Clinton, and the role of the first lady, the second edition gives in-depth analyses on each president and his administration.
The Vice PresidentsIn the slightly more than 200 years since John Adams became the first incumbent in America, the vice presidency has seen a procession of prominent figures and public disgraces. Political and historical, The Vice Presidents collects the life stories of all 45 men who have held this office. Each biography addresses the state of the country at the time these men were in office.
eBooks
American Presidents, Washington to TylerAs of 2012, only 43 men have held the office of the President of the United States. Some have been sanctified and some reviled. This historical work addresses the careers of the first ten presidents, men who made vital contributions not only to the office of the presidency, but to the course of the fledgling nation. From Washington through Tyler, every term is recounted in detail and each presidential profile provides as many as a hundred quotations (with full source notes) by the president, his friends, family, historians, and others. Each profile ends with an extensive bibliography of books about the president, his principles and policies, and also provides suggestion for further reading. Rigorously nonpartisan in approach, this detail-rich text describes the early years of what may well be one of the most demanding jobs in the world.
Britannica Guide to 100 Most Influential AmericansShining the spotlight on a hundred men and women who really made a difference to the worldOCOs most powerful nation, this book features the lives and achievements of extraordinary Americans OCo presidents and sports figures, film stars and physicists, generals and Internet mavericks OCo from the age of the Founding Fathers to the present. Telling the stories of lives of men and women over the last 300 years, the book celebrates their achievements and presents a revealing history of the United States. Selected by the editors of Encyclopaedia Britannica, the book contains surprises and insights into the personalities that created America and is bound to cause debate."
Great American LawyersFrom their drafting of the Declaration of Independence to their current prominent role in U.S. politics, lawyers have always been preeminent in American national life. This set examines the lives of 100 American lawyers who have distinguished themselves from colonial times to the present.
Presidents: A Biographical Dictionary by Neil A. HamiltonThe most powerful men in America, the women behind them, the men a heartbeat away from becoming the commander-in-chief, and the men and women appointed to the highest judicial position by our nation's presidents--these are the leaders who have helped shape the political landscape of our great democracy. Suitable for exploratory research or for casual reading, the newly revised
Charles I by Richard CustCharles I was a complex man whose career intersected with some of the most dramatic events in English history. He played a central role in provoking the English Civil War, and his execution led to the only republican government Britain has ever known. Historians have struggled to get him into perspective, veering between outright condemnation and measured sympathy. Richard Cust shows that Charles I was not unfit to be a king', emphasising his strengths as a party leader and conviction politician, but concludes that, none the less, his prejudices and attitudes, and his mishandling of political crises did much to bring about a civil war in Britain. He argues that ultimately, after the war, Charles pushed his enemies into a position where they had little choice but to execute him."
The Reader's Companion to American HistoryDesigned to be read for pleasure as well as for information, this links facts, dates and events to reveal broad themes in, and ideas about, American history. This thematic and interpretive approach aims to bring out the relationships among topics separated not only geographically and in time but, in many encyclopaedias, by either alphabetical or chronological organization.
The Reader's Companion to U. S. Women's HistoryThe most inclusive book to date on U.S. women's collective history! A landmark work, The Reader's Companion to U.S. Women's History, gathers together more than 400 articles to offer a diverse, rich, and often neglected panorama of the nation's past. Written by more than 300 contributors, drawn from various areas of expertise, these narrative and interpretive entries "effectively cover five centuries of women's experiences" (Bloomsbury Review). Here are articles on cowgirls and child care, on the daily lives of single women and the changing notions of motherhood, on the artistic contributions of women of color and the history of Jewish feminism. Wide-ranging in scope and wonderfully accessible, this unique resource reexamines with fresh clarity and brio the issues and concerns that color the lives of all women. Articles and their contributors include: African American Women, Darlene Clark Hine; Cult of Domesticity, Carroll Smith-Rosenberg; Fashion and Style, Lynn Yaeger; Jazz and Blues, Daphne Duval Harrison; Lesbians, Elizabeth Lapovsky Kennedy; Native American Cultures, Clara Sue Kidwell; Picture Brides, Judy Yung; Salem Witchcraft Trials, Mary Beth Norton; Vietnam Era, Sara M. Evans.
