Research Guides: Public Health: Databases

Search for Articles Available Online

Search American Journal of Public Health

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This scholarly collection of more than 8,200 publications offers information in nearly every area of academic study, many in full text.
Access World News - California Newspapers and others This link opens in a new window Full-text newspapers including statistics, quotes, facts, analysis, historical perspectives, obituaries and more. Local newspapers such as Chico News included along with San Francisco Chronicle and Sacramento Bee. An easy to use map-based interface allows flexible searching by newspaper, state, and region.
US Newsstream (1980 to current) This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage of the following major newspapers: New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, 1985 – to current date. Record Searchlight 2011- to current date.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains the full text of articles, many peer reviewed, covering topics in psychology, sociology, anthropology, and psychiatry.

Combining Search Terms

(Obesity OR overweight) AND child* AND (school* OR "school lunch*")

(disabled OR wounded OR "medical care") AND veterans AND benefits

(ADHD OR "Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder") AND (medication OR drugs)

"Medical Marijuana" AND (Law OR Legislation OR "drug legalization" OR "narcotic law*")

(infectio* or contagio*) AND epidemic* AND Mumps

measles AND (vaccin* or immuniz*) AND "personal belief*"

(vaccin* or immuniz*) AND ("parent attitude" or belief*) AND exempt*

(eye* or vision) AND (exam* or screen*) AND (importance or need)

"public health" AND (problem* or challenge* or trend*) AND "United States"

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article
NCSU Library shows how to identify the parts of a scholarly or peer reviewed article from an academic journal.

Online Articles

Combating MRSA: The drug-resistant “superbug” What causes antibiotic resistance?
From on High: A Discussion of Federal Law and State Court Decisions on Medical Marijuana and the Workplace. The article discusses U.S. federal and state court judgments in cases related to medical marijuana and workplace accommodations. So far, 30 U.S. states and the District of Columbia have passed legislation that decriminalizes marijuana. However, state laws differ in what protections employees may have in the workplace if they are using medical marijuana. The California Supreme Court has ruled that employers are not required to accommodate an employee's medicinal use under the California statute.
A Growing Interest in Medical Marijuana. The article examines the implications of the growing popularity of medical marijuana across the U.S. for physical therapists (PTs) and physical therapy assistants (PTAs). According to estimates, ... Subjects: MEDICAL marijuana -- Law & legislation; CANNABIS; PAIN; PHYSICAL therapy; PSYCHOLOGY of the sick.
States Have a Role in Creating Public Health Policies. The article provides information on creating policies for public health and constitutional power in emergency resources. Topics discussed include regulations in agencies with cabinet level departments, licensure for nurses given by the American Nurses Association, and National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health. *DRUG control *CANNABIS *MEDICAL marijuana -- Law & legislation *PUBLIC health -- United States *MEDICAL policy *STATE governments *ONCOLOGY nursing *INDUSTRIAL safety *PROFESSIONAL licenses
Critical Review of Health Impacts of Wildfire Smoke Exposure Wildfire activity is predicted to increase in many parts of the world due to changes in temperature and recipitation patterns from global climate change. Wildfire smoke contains numerous hazardous air pollutants and many studies have documented population health effects from this exposure. Objectives: We aimed to assess the evidence of health effects from exposure to wildfire smoke.
Smoke Signals. The article discusses adverse health effects and public health impact related to wildfire smoke inhalation, focusing on a study by Colleen E. Reid and colleagues which linked wildfire smoke with increased mortality rates and multiple respiratory conditions, such as asthma and chronic obstructive pulmonary disease, through the review of several epidemiological studies
Vaccines Do Not Cause Autism - Study Finds

Local Newspapers (includes Redding Record Searchlight, Sacramento Bee)

Access World News - California Newspapers and others This link opens in a new window
Full-text newspapers including statistics, quotes, facts, analysis, historical perspectives, obituaries and more. Local newspapers such as Chico News included along with San Francisco Chronicle and Sacramento Bee. An easy to use map-based interface allows flexible searching by newspaper, state, and region.

Library

About

Research

Support

Public Health

Search for Articles Available Online

Combining Search Terms

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article

Online Articles

Local Newspapers (includes Redding Record Searchlight, Sacramento Bee)