Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This scholarly collection of more than 8,200 publications offers information in nearly every area of academic study, many in full text.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
A weekly publication providing original, in-depth analysis of the most current major and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, all the pros and cons, bibliographies and more.
Ethnic Diversity Source This link opens in a new window
Full-text resources cover the culture, traditions, social treatment, and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. Sources include peer-reviewed journals, magazines, e-books, biographies, and primary source documents.
MasterFILE Complete This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues, biographies, and more in full text.
MAS Ultra - High School Edition This link opens in a new window
Articles are from more than 700 popular high school level magazines. Also includes information from reference books such as The World Almanac & Book of Facts and lengthy articles on the states of the U.S. from the Our States reference series.

Scroll to Refine your results and select 2014 to 2021 to retrieve complete articles published after 2014.

Click on Choose Databases to simultaneously search more than one EBSCO database such as Academic Search Complete.

Print your article

Email your article

Get a computer-generated citation for your article

US Newsstream (1980 to current) This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage of the following major newspapers: New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, 1985 – to current date. Record Searchlight 2011- to current date.
Access World News - California Newspapers and others This link opens in a new window
Full-text newspapers including statistics, quotes, facts, analysis, historical perspectives, obituaries and more. Local newspapers such as Chico News included along with San Francisco Chronicle and Sacramento Bee. An easy to use map-based interface allows flexible searching by newspaper, state, and region.

Library Databases Pro/Con Arguments

SIRS Issues Researcher (for opposing viewpoints on controversial issues) This link opens in a new window
Provides articles exploring social, scientific, health, historic, business, economic, political, and global issues. A helpful list of popular topics is included as well as current issues organized in a “Pro/Con” argument format.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
A weekly publication providing original, in-depth analysis of the most current major and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, all the pros and cons, bibliographies and more.

Find a Topic - Newspaper Articles
Newspaper articles grouped into groups of popular topics.
ProCon.org
This free site exploring controversial issues has an Obamacare page.

"Stem cells" AND cloning AND bioethics

Adoption AND (interracial OR "ethnic identity")

(ADHD OR "Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder") AND (medication OR drugs)

(Bullying OR cyberbullying) AND (online OR internet)

("Capital punishment" OR "death penalty") AND ("lethal injection*" OR execution)

"Gun control" AND child* AND (teach or educate*) AND safe*

("illegal aliens" OR immigration) AND ("immigration law" OR "government policy")

Marijuana AND (Law OR Legislation OR "drug legalization" OR "narcotic law*")

(Obesity OR overweight) AND child* AND (school* OR "school district*")

("Same sex" OR gay) AND ("marriage law*" OR "civil unions") and California

(disabled OR wounded OR "medical care") AND veterans AND benefits

*Search Commands*
*	asterisk	to truncate words at their roots or stems	safe* for safe and safety
“ “	quotation marks	to enclose a phrase or name	“gun control”
OR		to connect related terms	global OR international
( )	parentheses	To nest terms when for searches with multiple commands	(global OR international)
AND		to combine multiple facets	(global OR international) AND safe* AND “gun control”