Shasta College Logo

Newspapers Historic

Information about Shasta College Library's local newspaper collection, and how to use them for research.

The coverage listed indicates the date range available in Shasta College Library's collection.

Other newspapers

Shasta College has Access World News - California Newspapers and others that might also be of interest--from Los Angeles, Sacramento, San Francisco and San Jose--as well as some newspapers related to WWII Japanese Internment Camps (See list below). The Shasta College Library also provides access to the New York Times. Visit the library Databases.

Online newspaper subscriptions such as US Newsstream (1980 to current) can be accessed from off-campus by logging into the Shasta College portal. 

Sacramento

Sacramento Bee

Date Coverage: Feb 1857 - Dec 1991

Locations: Microfilm/Reference area

Date coverage: 1984 - present

Location:  Access World News - California Newspapers and others

San Francisco

This list is in alphabetical order by title. When San Francisco appears in the title in parentheses, "(San Francisco)", it has been added to clarify where the newpaper is published; it is not an official part of the newspaper title.

(San Francisco) Alta California

Date coverage: Jan 1, 1858 - Oct 1865

Location: Microfilm/Reference area

(San Francisco) Daily Alta California

Date coverage: 1850 - 1890

Location: Online/Open Source

San Francisco Call

Date coverage: 1899-1910

Location: Online/Open Source

San Francisco Chronicle

Date coverage: Jan 1970 - Jun 1992

Location: Microfilm/Reference area 

Date coverage: 1985 - present

Location:  Access World News - California Newspapers and others

San Francisco Chronicle Index

Date coverage: 1976-1990 

Location: REF AI21.S25 S26 in the Microfilm/Reference area 

San Jose

San Jose Mercury News

Date coverage: 1985 - present

Location:  Access World News - California Newspapers and others

Los Angeles

Los Angeles Times

Date coverage: 1985 - present

Location: US Newsstream (1980 to current)

New York

New York Times
Date coverage: 1851 - 2004

Location: Online Database: U.S. Newstream Historical New York Times: ON CAMPUS / OFF CAMPUS

Date coverage: June 1, 1980 - present

Location: US Newsstream (1980 to current)

New York Times Index
Date Coverage: 1851 - 1989
Location: REF
AI21 .N45 in the Microfilm/Reference area

Japanese internment camp newspapers

Heart Mountain Sentinel (Cody, WY)

Date coverage: Nov 7, 1942 - Jun 2, 1945

Location: Microfilm/Reference area

Pacific Citizen

(Started in 1929 in San Francisco under the title Nikkei Shimin, the Pacific Citizen (renamed in 1931) moved to Salt Lake City, Utah during WWII where it continued to be published. The Pacific Citizen is still being published today.)

Date coverage: Jun 4, 1942 - Mar 25, 1944

Location: Microfilm/Reference area

Pomona Center News (Pomona, CA)

Date coverage: Jun 30, 1942 - Aug 8, 1942

Location: Microfilm/Reference area

Santa Anita Pacemaker (Arcadia, CA)

Date coverage: Jun 9, 1942 - Sep 9, 1942

Location: Microfilm/Reference area