Shasta College Logo

Newspapers Historic

Information about Shasta College Library's local newspaper collection, and how to use them for research.

The coverage listed indicates the date range available in Shasta College Library's collection.

Redding

This list is in alphabetical order by title. When Redding appears in the title in parentheses, "(Redding)", the word Redding has been added to clarify where the newpaper is published; it is not an official part of the newspaper title.

 

(Redding) Courier Free Press

Date coverage: Mar 1906 - Nov 1907

Location: Microfilm/Reference area

 

(Redding) Daily Free Press

Date coverage: Sep 1, 1896 - Dec 14, 1900

Location: Microfilm/Reference area

 

(Redding) Free Weekly Press

Date coverage: Apr 4, 1888 - Apr 14, 1894

Location: Microfilm/Reference area

 

(Redding) Morning Searchlight

Date coverage: Nov 30, 1897 - May 22, 1901

Location: Microfilm/Reference area

 

(Redding) Reading Independent

Date coverage: Oct 9, 1879 - Jul 22, 1880

Location: Microfilm/Reference area

 

(Redding) Record Searchlight

Date coverage PRINT: May 12, 1975 - 2020

Location: Microfilm/Reference area

Date coverage ONLINE: 2011 – present

Location:  US Newsstream database (for dates online prior to 2011 contact librarian: askalibrarian@shastacollege.edu)

 

Redding Record Searchlight and the Courier Free Press

Date coverage: 

Jan 5, 1942 - Dec 31, 1952;

Jan 1967 - May 10, 1975

Location: Microfilm/Reference area

 

(Redding) Republican Free Press

Date coverage: Apr 22, 1883 - Apr 7, 1888

Location: Microfilm/Reference area

 

(Redding) Searchlight

Date coverage: 

Jan 29, 1895 - Dec 13, 1898;

May 23, 1901 - Jan 4, 1942 (Jul - Dec 1912 missing)

Location: Microfilm/Reference area

 

(Redding) Shasta Courier

Date coverage: 

Mar 12, 1853 - Dec 14, 1872;

Jan 8, 1909 - Jul 31, 1952 (1937 - 1943 missing)

Location: Microfilm/Reference area

 

(Redding) Weekly Free Press

Date coverage: 

1889 - Apr 3, 1891;

Apr 15, 1893 - Apr 14, 1894

Location: Microfilm/Reference area

 

(Redding) Weekly Shasta Courier

Date coverage: Dec 21, 1872 - Nov 4, 1905

Location: Microfilm/Reference area

Anderson

Anderson Valley News

Date coverage:

1910-1944 (Nov-Dec 1940 missing);

Mar 2, 1966 - Apr 4, 1968;

Apr 18, 1968 - Apr 30, 1970

Location: Microfilm/Reference area

Shasta County

Shasta Herald

Date coverage: June 4, 1859 - May 30, 1861

Location: Microfilm/Reference area

 

Shasta Republican

Date coverage: Oct 20, 1855 - May 28, 1859

Location: Microfilm/Reference area

 

Note: The Shasta Republican (v.1 no.1, Oct 20, 1855 - v.4 no.189, May 28, 1859) changed its name to the Shasta Herald (v.4 no.190, June 4, 1859 - ?). Dates in this note reflect the publications' lifespans not Shasta College Library's collection.