Addiction by Howard Padwa (Editor); Jacob Cunningham (Editor)A reference guide that answers the questions people have about addiction and addictive behaviors of all kinds, including drugs, alcohol, gambling, sex, Internet usage, and more. * Comprises 127 A-Z entries on major individuals, concepts, laws, organizations, and events in the history of addiction in the United States * 17 primary source documents highlight major ideas and developments in the history of addiction in the United States * Offers suggestions for further reading for readers interested in learning more about the topics examined in the encyclopedia
Brain-Robbers by Frances R. FrankenburgA psychiatrist examines how the world's four most important mind-altering substances-- alcohol, cocaine, nicotine, and opiates--have played a significant role throughout human history, and explains how these powerful drugs affect the brain and cause addiction. * Presents a historical review of four plant-derived drugs--alcohol, cocaine, nicotine, and opiates--and their effects throughout human civilization, as well as a fascinating exploration of the mystery and misery of addiction * Provides comprehensive explanations of medical and psychiatric effects of these drugs * Supplies stories of people who made discoveries about these drugs or who had their lives altered by them * Describes the discovery of the way in which the brain works * Includes illustrations of brain pathways and of the four plants of origin for these drugs, and maps showing drug trade triangles
Brief Interventions for Adolescent Alcohol and Substance Abuse by Peter M. Monti (Editor); Suzanne M. Colby (Editor); Tracy O'Leary Tevyaw (Editor)Bringing together leading experts, this book demonstrates the unique value of brief motivational interventions for addressing adolescent alcohol and other substance use in a range of clinical contexts. It presents cutting-edge knowledge on the etiology and developmental context of adolescent addictive behaviors and reviews exemplary treatment approaches. Effective strategies are described for intervening with diverse populations, such as college students, youth in the justice system and in foster care, those with co-occurring substance abuse and psychiatric problems, LGBT youth, and Latino and American Indian adolescents. This book replaces the editors' influential earlier work, Adolescents, Alcohol, and Substance Abuse, with an expanded focus on practical applications. Most of the chapters are completely new.
Children of the Drug War by Damon Barrett (Editor)Children--Social conditions
Drug control
Children--Drug use
Categories:
PSYCHOLOGY / Psychopathology / Addiction
SELF-HELP / Substance Abuse & Addictions / General
Emerging Perspectives on Substance Misuse by Willm MistralCopy - Web Catalog: Emerging Perspectives on Substance Misuse addresses theoretical, practice and policy issues with regard to the problematic use of alcohol and illegal drugs. Comprises chapters from some of the most internationally well-known academics and practitioners representing a range of different specializations and perspectives in the field Presents a wide range of emerging evidence-based perspectives Includes content relevant for researchers, practitioners, and policy makers who work with individuals or policy related to drug and alcohol misuse Areas covered include - gender and substance use, working with children and families of substance misusers and the emerging recovery movement
Genetic Influences on AddictionA comprehensive review of research examining intermediary mechanisms to understand the link between genetic variation and addiction liability. Although there is scientific consensus that genetic factors play a substantial role in an individual's vulnerability to drug or alcohol addiction, specific genetic variables linked to risk or resilience remain elusive. Understanding how genetic factors contribute to addiction may require focusing on intermediary mechanisms, or intermediate phenotypes, that connect genetic variation and risk for addiction. This book offers a comprehensive review of this mechanistic-centered approach and the most promising intermediate phenotypes identified in empirical research. The contributors first consider the most established findings in the field, including variability in drug metabolism, brain electrophysiological profiles, and subjective reactions to direct drug effects; they go on to review highly promising areas such as expectancies, attentional processing, and behavioral economic variables; and finally, they investigate more exploratory approaches, including the differential susceptibility hypothesis and epigenetic modifications. Taken together, the chapters offer a macro-level testing of the hypothesis that these alternative, mechanistic phenotypes can advance the understanding of genetic influences on addiction. The book will be of interest to researchers and practitioners in a range of disciplines, including behavioral genetics, psychology, pharmacology, neuroscience, and sociology. Contributors John Acker, Steven R.H. Beach, Gene H. Brody, Angela D. Bryan, Megan J. Chenoweth, Danielle M. Dick, Eske D. Derks, Mary-Anne Enoch, Meg Gerrard, Frederick X. Gibbons, Thomas E. Gladwin, Mark S. Goldman, Marcus Heilig, Kent E. Hutchison, Hollis C. Karoly, Steven M. Kogan, Man Kit Lei, Susan Luczak, James MacKillop, Renee E. Magnan, Leah M. Mayo, Marcus R. Munafò, Daria Orlowska, Abraham A. Palmer, Danielle Pandika, Clarissa C. Parker, Robert A. Philibert, Lara A. Ray, Richard R. Reich, Ronald L. Simons, Courtney J. Stevens, Rachel E. Thayer, Rachel F. Tyndale, Tamara L. Wall, Reinout W. Wiers, Michael Windle, Harriet de Wit
How the Drug War Ruins American Lives by Arthur BenavieThis book reveals the disturbing truth about how the escalation of the War on Drugs over the past 30 years has eroded the human and property rights of Americans--while doing little to stop drug trafficking or use. * Shows that the War on Drugs has failed to achieve the goals that were originally set * Argues that this war continues to erode human and property rights * Explores how the climate of the War on Drugs is changing * Discusses the powerful actors that support the continued drug war * Shares provocative accounts of the impact of the drug war on regular citizens * Includes links to further reading and video evidence
Illicit Drugs by Richard Isralowitz; Peter L. MyersSome 20 million Americans, or 8 percent of the population of the United States aged 12 and older, use marijuana, cocaine, heroin, amphetamines, ecstasy, or other illicit drugs. The cost to our society is enormousaemore than $300 billion annually for related expenses such as health care and treatment, social services, law enforcement, and losses due to crime
Sexuality and Addiction by Raven JamesThis book provides an understanding of how sexuality and addiction are intertwined, helping those who counsel substance abusers and individuals who have experienced negative sexual messages or experiences to improve their sexual health and enjoyment.
Substance Use and Abuse by Kara Rogers (Editor)Consumed for a wide range of reasons, substances that alter a personOCOs mood and mind are widespread in most societies. Although many such substances initially had been valued for their medicinal properties, their usage can have health-endangering consequences, including habit formation. The misuse or abuse of legal and illicit drugs and alcohol engender numerous public health concerns over time. This analytical volume examines the physical, ethical, and public policy issues that have arisen as the result of excessive and inappropriate substance use."
Theory of Addiction by Robert West; Jamie BrownThe word 'addiction' these days is used to refer to a chronic condition where there is an unhealthily powerful motivation to engage in a particular behaviour. This can be driven by many different factors - physiological, psychological, environmental and social. If we say that it is all about X, we miss V, W, Y and Z. So, some people think addicts are using drugs to escape from unhappy lives, feelings of anxiety and so on; many are. Some people think drugs become addictive because they alter the brain chemistry to create powerful urges; that is often true. Others think that drug taking is about seeking after pleasure; often it is. Some take the view that addiction is a choice - addicts weigh up the pros and cons of doing what they do and decide the former outweigh the latter. Yet others believe that addicts suffer from poor impulse control; that is often true... And so it goes on. When you look at the evidence, you see that all these positions capture important aspects of the problem - but they are not complete explanations. Neuroscience can help us delve more deeply into some of these explanations, while the behavioural and social sciences are better at exploring others. We need a model that puts all this together in a way that can help us decide what to do in different cases. Should we prescribe a drug, give the person some 'tender loving care', put them in prison or what? Theory of Addiction provides this synthesis. The first edition was well received: 'Throughout the book the reader is exposed to a vast number of useful observations...The theoretical aims are timely, refreshing, ambitious and above all challenging. It opens up a new way of looking at addiction and has the potential to move the field of addiction a considerable leap forward. Thus we wholeheartedly would like to recommend the book for students as well as scholars. Read and learn!' Nordic Studies on Alcohol and Drugs 'The book provides a comprehensive review of existing theories - over 30 in all - and this synthesis of theories constitutes an important contribution in and of itself... West is to be commended for his synthesis of addiction theories that span neurobiology, psychology and social science and for his insights into what remains unexplained.' Addiction This new edition of Theory of Addiction builds on the first, including additional theories in the field, a more developed specification of PRIME theory and analysis of the expanding evidence base. With this important new information, Theory of Addiction will continue to be essential reading for all those working in addiction, from student to experienced practitioner - as urged above, Read and learn!
Your Brain on Food by Gary Lee WenkWhy is eating chocolate so pleasurable? Can the function of just one small group of chemicals really determine whether you are happy or sad? Does marijuana help to improve your memory in old age? Is it really best to drink coffee if you want to wake up and be alert? Why is a drug like PCP potentially lethal? Why does drinking alcohol make you drowsy? Do cigarettes help to relieve anxiety? What should you consume if you are having trouble staying in your chair and focusing enough to get your work done? Why do treatments for the common cold make us drowsy? Can eating less food preserve your brain? What are the possible side effects of pills that claim to make your smarter? Why is it so hard to stop smoking? Why did witches once believe that they could fly? In this book, Gary Wenk demonstrates how, as a result of their effects on certain neurotransmitters concerned with behavior, everything we put into our bodies has very direct consequences for how we think, feel, and act. The chapters introduce each of the main neurotransmitters involved with behavior, discuss its role in the brain, present some background on how it is generally turned on and off, and explain ways to influence it through what we consume.
