This page will give you a general introduction to American Psychological Association (APA) formatting as well as resources that you can use for more detailed examples. This page will attempt to keep up with the most current rules associated with APA. Your instructor may have some variations in their requirements for the course. Please check your course syllabus, contact your instructor, or the Library Reference desk if you have any questions.
“The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Associationis the style manual of choice for writers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides invaluable guidance on all aspects of the writing process, from the ethics of authorship to the word choice that best reduces bias in language.”
“Publication Manual” American Psychological Association. APA, 2013. Web. 22 Feb. 2013.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by 
The Little Seagull Handbook by
The pocket-sized handbook that does the work of a full-sized handbook, now with a new section on editing the errors that matter. Most handbooks include chapters on various general writing topics (e.g., the writing process or the elements of an argument), but few cover the specific kinds of writing students are assigned to do. The Little Seagull has chapters on reports, analyses, and all the other genres that college students are most often assigned. And because it's so small, so easy to use, and so affordable, it's proven to be a popular alternative to larger (and much more costly) handbooks. The third edition adds a new section on editing the errors that matter--and the option to include free access to InQuizitive for Writers, which provides practice in editing the same errors.
APA Style Simplified by
This is a compact but comprehensive guide to writing clearly and effectively in APA style. Demonstrates how to write objective scientific research papers using interesting prose Incorporates guidelines from the 6th edition of the APA publication manual Explores how to develop ideas, connect them to what others have written, and express them clearly Discusses the differences between written, oral, and poster presentations and offers instructions for applying APA style to each
The Concise APA Handbook by Are you wondering about when and how to use doi's? Click here for a helpful flowchart.
