Research Guides: Music: Databases

Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This scholarly collection of more than 8,200 publications offers information in nearly every area of academic study, many in full text.
MasterFILE Complete This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues, biographies, and more in full text.
America, History and Life This link opens in a new window
Database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for over 1,700 journals from 1955 to present. Also includes citations and links to book and media reviews.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains the full text of articles, many peer reviewed, covering topics in psychology, sociology, anthropology, and psychiatry.
US Newsstream (1980 to current) This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage of the following major newspapers: New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, 1985 – to current date. Record Searchlight 2011- to current date.

**Search Commands**
*	asterisk	Truncates words at their root Increases the number of articles retrieved	symphon* for symphonic, symphonies, symphony instrument* for instrument, instrumental, instrumentation, instruments...
" "	quotation marks	Encloses a phrase or name Decreases the number of articles retrieved	"basso coninuo" "civil war"
or		Connects related terms	film* or movie*
( )	parentheses	Groups similar ideas	(renaissance or baroque)
and		Combines multiple parts of your research question	(film* or movie) and score and compos* ("art song" or lied or melodie*) and Schubert

"Leonard Bernstein" AND "New York Philharmonic" AND conduct*

Chopin AND piano AND nocturnes

"Music therap*" AND child* AND autist*

(hymns OR psalms) AND music AND history would be entered into the search box like this: